Library Guides: Government Information: U.S. & Int'l. Gov. Databases

U.S. Gov.: General

data.census.gov (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
Official data from U.S. Census Bureau surveys, including the American Community Survey, the Decennial Census, the Economic Census, Economic Surveys, Population Estimates, Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes, Community Resilience Estimates, and Public Sector surveys.

Fedflix [electronic resource] : free movies : download & streaming
FedFlix features the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.
GAO Reports and Testimonies
Reports ("blue books") by the nonpartisan U.S. Government Accountability Office, commonly featuring statistics and graphs, that analyze and investigate how federal government programs spend taxpayer dollars. Topic areas include: Agriculture & Food, Budget & Spending, Business/Industry & Consumers, Civil Rights, Education, Employment, Energy, Environmental Protection, Housing, International Affairs, Justice & Law Enforcement, National Defense, Natural Resources
Geographic Names Information System - GNIS
Contains the Federally recognized names of physical and cultural geographic features in the U.S. Defines feature locations by state, county, USGS topographic map, and geographic coordinates.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides full text for nearly 300 journals and other periodicals and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles, including The World Factbook (CIA).

NTIS Database Search
Bibliographic access to research and development results and other technical reports produced by and for more than 600 U.S. Federal Government agencies as well as state, local, and selected worldwide sources. Subjects strengths include scientific, technical, engineering, and business. Coverage: 1964-
Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012
The "National Data Book" contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. Coverage: 1878-2012
TRAIL-Technical Report Archive and Image Library
An initiative led by the University of Arizona in collaboration with CRL and other interested agencies to identify, digitize, archive, and provide access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.
United States Government Manual
Handbook provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees. Coverage: 1935-current ed.
Congressional Research Service Reports
CRS serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. Coverage: September 2018-
Access to Archival Databases (AAD)
National Archives databases include war casualties, passenger ship arrivals, relocated Japanese, and many more
CDFI Fund's Searchable Award Database
Community Development Financial Institutions Fund, U.S. Department of the Treasury
Copyright Database
Copyright Catalog (1978 to present), from the Library of Congress.

U.S. Gov.: Economics

Economic Indicators
Prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisers and provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance. Coverage: 1995-
Economic Report of the President
Annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. Overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Coverage: 1995- (1947- available here)
Development Experience Clearinghouse
Resource for USAID-funded technical and program documentation from more than 50 years of USAID's existence, with more than 155,000 documents available for viewing and electronic download.

U.S. Gov.: Health/Medicine

Health, United States
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). Statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and more. Coverage: 1975-

MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed from the National Library of Medicine, covering more than 5,200 scholarly biomedical and life sciences journals published around the world. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). PubMed "Ahead of Print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE indexed journal are also included in this version.
PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service from the National Library of Medicine containing citations and abstracts of articles, primarily in the fields of biomedicine and health. It includes the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Database of Interventions (CDC Community Health Improvement Navigator)
Identify interventions that work in four action areas—socioeconomic factors, physical environment, health behaviors, and clinical care.

U.S. Gov.: Marketing

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to provide comparability in statistics about business activity across North America. Updated every 5 years.
USA Trade Online (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data from the U.S. Census Bureau. User Guide

U.S. Gov.: International Business

Foreign trade. Data (U.S. Census Bureau : 2014)
Subscription includes: Merchandise trade exports - monthly, and: Merchandise trade imports - monthly. Access available to Federal Depository Libraries only. Patrons should contact their local depository librarian for access (UWL Murphy Library: Michael Current).

U.S. Gov.: Primary Sources

Budget of the United States Government
A complete description of the President's budget plans for the coming fiscal year. Coverage: 1996-
Code of Federal Regulations
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Coverage: 1996-
Congressional Bills
Contains all published versions of bills of the House of Representatives and Senate. Coverage: 103rd Congress- (1993- )
Congressional Record
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Consists of four sections: the Daily Digest, the House section, the Senate section, and the Extension of Remarks. Coverage: 1994- (Volume 140- )
Constitution of the United States: Analysis and Interpretation
Comprises the primary law of the U.S. Federal Government. Describes the three chief branches of the Federal Government and their jurisdictions. Lays out the basic rights of citizens of the U.S. Annotation by the Congressional Research Service in the Library of Congress. Coverage: 1992-
FBI Records: The Vault
Contains thousands of FBI documents, or portions or summaries of documents, released to the public in response to FOIA requests.
Federal Register
Rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Coverage: 1994- (Volume 59- )
History of Bills
Lists legislative actions on all bills and resolutions that are reported in the Congressional Record. Coverage: Volume 129- (1983- )
List of CFR Sections Affected
Proposed, new, and amended Federal regulations that have been published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision date of a Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) title. Coverage: 1986-

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Historical Congressional information and publications on many topics including scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, and communication policies. Includes: Bills and Laws 1789-Present, Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1817-Present, Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1998-Present, CRS Reports 1916-Present, Hearings 1824-Present, House and Senate Documents 1817-2014, House and Senate Reports 1817-2014, Serial Set 1789-Present, Serial Set Maps 1789-Present, and Executive Branch Documents 1789-1939.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law. Part A which covers 1929-2012, and Part B (when completed) will cover: 1789-1960; 2013 and 2014.

Public and Private Laws
Collectively known as "slip laws," Public and Private Laws are enrolled bills (bills approved by both chambers of Congress) have been signed into law by the President. (At the end of each session of Congress, the "slip laws" are compiled into the Statutes at Large, and they are known as "session laws.") Coverage: 104th Congress- (1995- )
Statutes at Large
Contains every public and private law passed by Congress. Also included are concurrent resolutions, proclamations by the President, proposed and ratified amendments to the Constitution, and reorganization plans. Coverage: 108th Congress- (2003- ). (1789-1875 is available here.)
Treaties in Force: A List of Treaties and Other International Acts of the United States in Force on ...
Section 1: Bilateral Treaties and Other Agreements;
Section 2: Multilateral Treaties and Other Agreements. Coverage: current edition.
United States Code (GPO version)
Codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States based on what is printed in the Statutes at Large. Coverage: 1994-
United States Code (US House version)
Codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States based on what is printed in the Statutes at Large. Coverage: current ed.
United States Reports
The opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. Coverage: v.502- (1991- )
Database of Federal Statute Names
Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale Law School

Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Includes: United States Code Annotated (USCA), Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Federal Register

U.S. Gov.: Ethnic and Racial Studies

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America, covering books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Coverage: 1936-

International Resources

Demographic Yearbook
International statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce. Coverage: 1948-

For UK, see the box to the right ---->

Government of Canada databases
ILOSTAT
Cross-country statistics on the labor market -- contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies. From the International Labour Organization (ILO).
ODS: Official Document System of the United Nations
ODS includes full text UN parliamentary documents (including resolutions and decisions) since 1993. Also contains the final official records version of all resolutions and decisions adopted by the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council since 1946.
The World Factbook
From the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). Country profiles track such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Also includes full-color maps and flags. Archived issues since 2000 also available.
Yearbook of the United Nations
Provides a detailed overview of UN activities, including all major General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council resolutions. Coverage: 1946-

U.S. Gov.: Education

Digest of Education Statistics
Includes numbers of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates. Also covers educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, international education, and more. Coverage: 1990-
Projections of Education Statistics
Included are projections for enrollment, graduates, classroom teachers, and expenditures at the national level. Also includes projections of public elementary and secondary enrollment and high school graduates at the state level.
Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs
From the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE).

ERIC (Institute of Education Sciences) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
From the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education. Full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

U.S. Gov.: Sciences

AGRICOLA (U.S. Department of Agriculture) This link opens in a new window
5.2 million+ citations for journal articles (1700+ journal titles currently indexed), monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world from as far back as the 15th century. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

DOE ScienceCinema
A multimedia search tool provided by the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information, with video and audio files produced by DOE National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN).
National Climatic Data Center Image & Publication Systems
From NOAA. Local Climatological Data, Climatological Data, Hourly Precipitation Data, Storm Data, Monthly Climatic Data for the World, COOP Data / Record of Climatological Observations Form, Climatological Data National Summary
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
OSTI.GOV
Over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, plus technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.

PTSDpubs (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, formerly known as PILOTS, covers worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health consequences of traumatic events,
PubChem (National Center for Biotechnology Information) This link opens in a new window
Consists of three sub-databases: PCSubstance contains over 850,000 chemical structures, descriptions, and more. PCCompound contains over 650,000 validated chemical depictions. PCBioAssay contains more than 170 bioactivity screens of chemical substances.

Science Explorer (SciX)
A digital library portal for researchers in astronomy, earth science, heliophysics, physics, and planetary science. The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) operates SciX for the scientific community under a NASA cooperative agreement.

US Topo (National Geospatial Program) This link opens in a new window
The next generation of digital topographic maps from the U.S. Geological Survey. Arranged in the traditional 7.5-minute quadrangle format.

U.S. Gov.: Criminal Justice

Crime in the United States
Contains the FBI's "Uniform Crime Reports." Compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. Arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data are also included. Coverage: 1995-
National Clandestine Laboratory Register Data (DEA)
Some locations where law enforcement agencies reportedly found chemicals or other items, indicating the presence of either clandestine drug laboratories or dumpsites.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Covers Federal, State, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime. Coverage: early 1970s to present.

USGS Topographic Maps

USGS Store Map Locator Tool
Tool for identifying maps produced the USGS, both current and historical. Order full size paper maps or view them in PDF format.
TopoView
Interactive viewer for maps from the USGS’s US Topo series (2009- ) and earlier Historical Topographic Map Collection (HTMC; 1884-2006). Download maps in a variety of formats.
National Map Viewer
USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer
A partnership between the USGS and ESRI.
US Topo and Historical Map Collection

United Kingdom

legislation.gov.uk (The National Archives (UK))
Carries most (but not all) types of legislation and their accompanying explanatory documents, including all legislation since 1988 and most pre-1988 primary legislation, plus a large selection of secondary legislation from 1948 onwards where this legislation is still in force.
Historic Hansard - 1803-2005
The full text of Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament. This was a prototype digitisation project conducted in 2008-2009; the information was provided by the Hansard Digitisation Project, led by the Directorate of Information Services of the House of Commons and the Library of the House of Lords.