Last Updated: Apr 22, 2015
- American FactFinder
- Census Explorer
Pilot project of the U.S. Census Bureau. Similar to Social Explorer, but much less data available, so far.
From the Applied Population Laboratory (APL) at UW-Madison. An interactive mapping and data extraction tool for Wisconsin demographics. Allows users to choose demographic variables and append it to the geography of their choice. Includes Census 2000, Census 2010, and the latest ACS data since 2005.
- Passport GMID - Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor)
Contains over 4 million statistics on industries, countries, and consumers; 15,000 industry, company, country, and consumer reports; 205 country reports; and market and brand share rankings. Data types include demographic and economic statistics, lifestyle indicators including housing and household facilities, travel and tourism trends, GDP trends, and income and earnings potential.
Note: Data in this resource may be used for research and private study only.
- Social Explorer (Oxford University Press)
An online research tool that provides access to historical census data and demographic information. Includes US Census data from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient source for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
For more about searching, viewing tables, saving, and printing from the Statistical Abstract, go to the Statistical Abstract Library Guide
- Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012
The "National Data Book" contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. Coverage: 1878-2012
- Crime in the United States
Contains the FBI's "Uniform Crime Reports." Compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. Arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data are also included. Coverage: 1995-
- Demographic Yearbook
International statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce. Coverage: 1948-
- Digest of Education Statistics
Includes numbers of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates. Also covers educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, international education, and more. Coverage: 1990-
- Economic Indicators
Prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisers and provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance. Coverage: 1995-
- Health, United States
Statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics. Coverage: 1975-
- La Crosse County Econowatch
Statistical social and economic indicators for the county. Published by the La Crosse County Economic Development Committee with assistance provided by the Mississippi River Regional Planning Commission. Coverage: through September 2011
- Projections of Education Statistics
Included are projections for enrollment, graduates, classroom teachers, and expenditures at the national level. Also includes projections of public elementary and secondary enrollment and high school graduates at the state level.
- World Bank e-atlas of global development [electronic resource]
Maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world. Most indicators cover several decades, so you can see, for example, how "life expectancy at birth" has improved from 1960 up through the latest year.
- World Bank: Data
A tremendously broad and deep source of widely respected international statistics on a wide variety of topics. World Development Indicators (WDI) is just the tip of the iceberg!
- World Factbook
Country profiles track such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. Also includes full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Coverage: current ed.
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research
ICPSR maintains and provides access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. ICPSR maintains an Online Learning Center
that contains subject guides which can facilitate embedding the use of data sets into the curriculum. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account; thereafter, you will need your email address and password to download data. Funding for this resource is provided by the College of Liberal Studies.
- OECD iLibrary: Statistics
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL (Roper)
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL (Roper) is a full-text, question-level retrieval system for all United States public opinion polling firms from 1935 to the present. Users have access to a broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International data sets are available for immediate download as well.
Please note: Gallup Datasets are loaded quarterly and reflect about 20% of all Gallup data.