Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases listed to the right are mostly subscription databases which the library has paid for to provide you with the most credible and authoritative information possible.
Many of the databases are not focused exclusively on music, but contain a good deal of music-related material within their interdisciplinary content.
Music Databases - How To
Music databases often have unique ways of searching and organizing their data. Here are some tips:
Oxford Music Online (Grove)
Naxos Music Library
- You can search the Naxos database directly or search the library catalog for the music and limit to Online Resources. Both will get you to CDs in Naxos.
- Look for a CD with the Naxos label that has the work you are looking for. Then on that CD's page, use the "Booklet" link in the left sidebar to view the CD liner booklet.
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online
- Search or browse by composer, then pick their work off the list
- With the entry for each composition, you can find the date of the first performance, the duration (how long the piece is), the original instrumentation, and other notes and details
Off Campus Access
Most of our research databases require users to log in with their UWL credentials. When you are asked for a username and password:
- Students: In the username box, enter your UWL NetID. Example: lastname.firs (Most UWL NetID user names follow this format: first 8 letters of your last name followed by a dot (.) followed by the first 4 letters of your first name.)
- Faculty: In the username box, enter your UWL NetID. Example: Flastname Most Faculty and Staff UWL NetID user names follow this format: first name initial followed by the last name.)
- Emeritus: In the username box, enter your NetID. Example: Flastname or lastname.firstname. In the password box, enter your two digit birth month, two digit birth day@UWL. Example: 0929@uwl
- DO NOT include @students.uwlax.edu or @uwlax.edu as part of your username. In the password box, enter your UWL NetID password.
- Remember, you will use the exact same user name and login as you use to login to D2L and in GCA Computer Labs - your NetID.
The first group of databases is the core list for this subject.
Search@UW will look at the following databases: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, OneFile (Gale), JSTOR, Project Muse, and others.
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online includes access to The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Combined, these resources cover every aspect of the music world including bibliographies on composers and musicians and hundreds of carefully selected and classified links to international musical sites.
Note: This resource is limited to 3 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later.
Music Index (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
Formerly The Music Index Online by Harmonie Park Press, Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. In addition to journal articles, it provides citations for book reviews, obituaries and news articles. Coverage: 1970-present.
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online is an orchestral music finder tool that contains records of over 11,000 works by more than 1,600 composers. Advanced search options include information such as duration, instrumentation, chorus type, and soloists.
Please Note: This resource does not work correctly in the Internet Explorer browser.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. While the collection primarily consists of classical pieces, it also includes a selection of jazz, world, and pop/rock music. Text resources, including overviews of music history, program notes for recordings, and the complete libretti of operas, are also available. Follow these instructions
to create your own playlists in Naxos Music Library.
: This resource is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts
This resource covers drama, music, art history, and filmmaking, with full text of over 250 journals indexed in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM).
Music Online: African American Music Reference (Alexander Street)
Thousands of essays, images, liner notes and more covering blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. Includes biographies of 185 African American composers.
BadgerLink Songbook Database (Resources for Libraries and Lifelong Learning)
An index to songs available through WI Department of Public Instruction's Reference and Loan Library Collection or through Wisconsin libraries. Users can search for a song by title, composer, lyricist or year to discover a book containing the song.
The Vogue Archive (ProQuest)
Vogue provides a record of American and international popular culture; it is a unique primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history. Marketing students can research the history of a brand identity by viewing every advertisement for a brand such as Revlon, Coty, Versace or Chanel between specified dates. Researchers in cultural studies and gender studies can explore themes such as body image, gender roles and social tastes from the 1890s to the present. The latest issue will be added each month with no embargo period. Users can search through all text, captions, and titles throughout the magazine, including advertisements, covers and fold-outs.
Newspapers & News Sources - LibGuide
When searching for information about premiere performances of musical compositions, you may find reviews and context in the newspapers of the time
The following databases, while not focusing exclusively on music, may also be useful.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including over 7,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. for a variety of disciplines.
Gale Academic OneFile
This database indexes and provides selected full text for thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources across many academic disciplines. Subjects covered include the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and literature.
eBook Collection @ EBSCOhost
Search and view the full text of over 13,000 eBooks, formerly available via NetLibrary, as well as newer, individually selected ebooks.
Access to the full text of scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines. Coverage: varies. Collections include: Arts and Science I - XV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences V - XIV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition. Access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection is made possible by the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Search over 30 encyclopedias and reference titles at once!
WorldCat Discovery (OCLC)
Please note: Access to WorldCat Discovery ended on July 1, 2020.
Over 172 million citations to books, online resources, periodical titles, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials, and more, representing holdings of more than 72,000 libraries worldwide.