Composers
The lists to the right consist of books about a few selected composers and their music. Use the call numbers of these books to locate even more resources.
Example:
ML 410 .V82 has the books about Vivaldi and his music.
You can go right to the 2nd floor of Murphy Library and find the ML 410 section to browse for composers -- they're in alphabetical order by composer.
Composer Call Numbers
Here is a list of some of the primary composers.
| Bach, J.S. | ML 410 .B1 |
| Buxtehude | ML 410 .B99 |
| Byrd | ML 410 .B996 |
| Carissimi | ML 410 .C3268 |
| Charpentier | ML 410 .C42 |
| Clementi | ML 410 .C64 |
| Corelli | ML 410 .C78 |
| Couperin | ML 410 .C855 |
| Frescobaldi | ML 410 .F85 |
| Gabrieli, G. | ML 410 .G11 |
| Gesualdo | ML 410 .G29 |
| Handel | ML 410 .H13 |
| Lully | ML 410 .L95 |
| Machaut | ML 410 .G966 |
| Monteverdi | ML 410 .M77 |
| Palestrina | ML 410 .P15 |
| Purcell | ML 410 .P93 |
| Rameau | ML 410 .R2 |
| Scarlatti, A. | ML 410 .S22 |
| Scarlatti, D. | ML 410 .S221 |
| Schütz | ML 410 .S35 |
| Telemann | ML 410 .T26 |
| Vivaldi | ML 410 .V82 |
Composers and Their Music
Corelli: His Life, His Work by Call Number: ML 410 .C78 P52Publication Date: 1956Bibliographical references included in "Notes" (pages 188-205) "Musical bibliography": pages 206-225. Bibliography: pages 226-230.
Georg Philipp Telemann by Call Number: ML 410 .T26 P5Publication Date: 1974Bibliography: p. 223-224.
List of Telemann's available published works: p. 225-242.
Henry Purcell, 1659-1695: His Life and Times by Call Number: ML 410 .P93 Z5Publication Date: 1967Bibliography: pages [392]-408.
Jean-Philippe Rameau: His Life and Work by Call Number: ML 410 .R2 G5Publication Date: 1957Bibliography: p. 578-592.
The New Bach Reader: A Life of Johann Sebastian Bach in Letters and Documents by Call Number: ML 410 .B1 D24 1998ISBN: 0393045587Publication Date: 1998Includes bibliographical references (pages 531-532) and index.
Vivaldi: Voice of the Baroque by Call Number: ML 410 .V82 L3 1993ISBN: 0500015767Publication Date: 1993Includes bibliographical references (p. 200-201) and index.
Books about Multiple Composers
Bach and the Baroque: A Performing View of the Music of J.S. Bach Based Primarily on Source Materials of the Baroque Period by Call Number: MT 92 .B1 N48 1985Publication Date: 1985
Composer Genealogies: A Compendium of Composers, their Teachers, and their Students by Call Number: ML100 .P505 2017 ReferenceISBN: 9781442272248
