Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Students have consistently requested longer hours, especially later weeknight hours and expanded weekend hours. Thanks to Academic Initiatives, the library was able to address this need by adding 11 evening and weekend hours per week to its schedule of open hours.
The expanded open times will be in effect every week during the regular semester, not including holidays and semester breaks.
The hours that have been added due to student funding are:
Sunday: 11:00 a.m.– 1:00 a.m.
Monday –Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
Saturday: 10:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Please note that these are general building hours and do not reflect hours for all departments within the library.
For a complete list of hours, including holidays, special hours, semester breaks, and specific library departments, please visit the complete Library Hours page.
Databases, E-journals, and Reference Works
The following is an alphabetical list of resources partially or fully funded by students through AIDAC.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
A comprehensive database containing full-text academic journals, magazines and periodicals plus reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline. Includes thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
Provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Artstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, along with a set of tools to view, present, and manage the images for research and teaching purposes. Entire collections of images have been contributed by museums, libraries' special collections, scholars, individual photographers and photo archives.
Please note: Users must register an account with Artstor in order to download images.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 (H.W. Wilson) @ EBSCOhost
Provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, and most have at least two. Reviews of the following types of books are excluded: government publications, textbooks, and technical books in the sciences and law. However, books on science for the general reader are included. The reviews originate in a group of selected periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, and general science published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Access to this resource is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition. Coverage: 1903-1982
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
The Criminal Justice Database (formerly ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index or CJPI) is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Gale Access Program
The Gale Access Program is a large collection of databases covering a wide range of subjects. This link takes you to a library guide where you can find a full list of databases included in the subscription.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together pro and con viewpoint articles from the Greenhaven Press book series, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, hundreds of primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more. In addition, it has thousands of links to reviewed and subject-indexed websites and podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs. Access to this resource is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition.
Gender Studies E-Book Collection (Duke University Press)
This ebook collection includes essential titles and field-defining scholarship in queer theory, gay and lesbian studies, transgender studies, feminist theory, and women's studies. Books can be read online or downloaded as PDFs by chapter. Funding for this resource is provided by the College of Liberal Studies.
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online includes access to The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Combined, these resources cover every aspect of the music world including bibliographies on composers and musicians and hundreds of carefully selected and classified links to international musical sites.
Note: This resource is limited to 3 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Index of all doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Access made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index
Online, full-image, and searchable content of The New York Times from September 18, 1851 to the present with a 4-year embargo. Includes articles, advertisements, and political cartoons. Search options include keyword, article type, by date, author, or browse by issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
Online, full-image, and searchable content of The Wall Street Journal from July 8, 1889 to the present with an 18-year embargo. In 1889, Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal as a markets-focused newspaper for shareholders. Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, and consumer affairs. Annual access fees for this resource are paid with Academic Initiative funds.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
Please note: Access to this resource ended on September 1, 2020.
The historical Washington Post (ProQuest) provides full page and article images with searchable full text from December 6, 1877 to the present with a 17-year embargo. It is possible to limit by article type including: classified ad, display ad, editorial cartoon, letter, comic, editorial article, review, stock quote, and weather.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) @ EBSCOhost
An index of articles from more than 550 magazine titles covering the years 1890-1982 in areas such as: arts, business, computers, crafts, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, gardening, health and medicine, home improvement, literature, news and current events, photography, popular and classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, sports and fitness, technology, transportation, and travel. Access to this resource is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition.
Reference Universe (Paratext)
A single, centralized access point to Murphy Library's collection of online and print reference works (subject encyclopedias, handbooks, compendia), allowing you to deeply search within the collection through tables of contents and actual back of the book indexes. Link directly into the work if available online. Covers 5,400 titles held by Murphy Library, and about 45,000 reference works total. Tutorial video
Includes 2,500 journals and 11,000 books published by Elsevier in the areas of health & life Sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral Sciences. Thanks to funding by academic initiatives, we now have the "complete" collection, which includes pre-1995 Journal Content with deep coverage available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 and practically all Elsevier online books, including Major Reference Works, Books Series, Handbooks, eBooks Front lists and Back lists back to 1995.
Social Explorer allows researchers to create dynamic maps and customizable reports using data from sources including: U.S. Decennial Census (1790- ), American Community Survey (2005- ), FBI crime data (2010- ), Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections, religion data (1980- ), health data (2010- ), County Business Patterns (2014- ) and more.
In 2017, Academic Initiatives partially funded the purchase of several Springer e-book packages in the disciplines of Biomedical & Life Sciences and Mathematics & Statistics.
The New Oxford Shakespeare
The New Oxford Shakespeare Online presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship. It includes the Modern Critical and Critical Reference Editions of Shakespeare's complete works, along with an Authorship Companion, containing essays on questions of authorship and chronology.
The Sunday Times (London) Historical Archive (Gale)
The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large since 1822. Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news. Coverage: 1822-2016.
The Times (London) Digital Archive (Gale)
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Coverage: 1785-2012.
The Vogue Archive (ProQuest)
Vogue provides a record of American and international popular culture; it is a unique primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history. Marketing students can research the history of a brand identity by viewing every advertisement for a brand such as Revlon, Coty, Versace or Chanel between specified dates. Researchers in cultural studies and gender studies can explore themes such as body image, gender roles and social tastes from the 1890s to the present. The latest issue will be added each month with no embargo period. Users can search through all text, captions, and titles throughout the magazine, including advertisements, covers and fold-outs.
The Times Literary Supplement (London) Historical Archive (Gale)
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world’s most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s. Coverage: 1902-2019.
Wisconsin Newspaper Archive
A digital collection of Wisconsin newspapers with coverage going back to 1813.