Included Collections
In addition to a number of stand-alone databases, the Gale Access Program includes two major database collections, Gale OneFile and Gale In Context.
OneFile Databases
This suite of databases contains full text and abstracts of scholarly and trade journals, newspapers, and magazines. It includes the large, multidisciplinary databases Gale Academic OneFile and Gale General OneFile, which are also broken down into subsets of subject-specific content for more targeted research. A resource guide from Gale on using the OneFile collections can be found here.
In Context Databases
Gale In Context databases are topical collections filled with current, authoritative, and media-rich content. Two of the major In Context databases, Opposing Viewpoints and Global Issues, are also cross-searchable.
What is the Gale Access Program?
Thanks to student funding through the Academic Initiatives Differential Allocation Committee (AIDAC), the library has begun a new subscription to the Gale Access Program, a large package of databases that covers a wide range of subject areas. This guide provides information on what is included in this subscription. Use the tabs above to access the full list of databases and to find information on research support and training.
Notable Resources
Gale Academic OneFile
This large, multidisciplinary database is a good starting place for undergraduate research.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This database indexes and provides selected full text for thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources across many academic disciplines. Subjects covered include the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and literature.
Literature Resource Center
An extensive collection of full-text critical and literary analysis.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource contains up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes content from Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Business Insights: Global
A comprehensive international business intelligence resource, with tools to conduct comparative analysis, create charts and graphs, and view company financials.
- Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains in-depth business information organized by company, industry, and country. Content includes case studies, market research reports, news articles, interactive comparison charts, and major reference works such as Market Share Reporter, International Directory of Company Histories, Brands and Their Companies, and Business Rankings Annual.
Gale In Context: Global Issues
International perspectives on current events and topics. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints.
- Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource covers a broad spectrum of global issues. Hundreds of continuously-updated topic portals bring together a variety of relevant sources, from news and scholarly articles to multimedia such as podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.
Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
Combines archival and contemporary reference materials to provide insight into the daily life, culture, traditions, history, and contemporary issues of Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Gale Primary Sources: Latin American and Caribbean History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource covers Latin American and Caribbean culture and society from the fifteenth century to the present day. Topics include politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. Includes primary source documents; academic journals and news-feeds; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.
Research Assistance
Librarians can help you learn to make the most of the information resources, tools, and services of Murphy Library and beyond!
Weekdays & Sunday afternoons (fall/spring):
Any time (year-round):
- Email us -- we'll email you back asap
- Schedule an appointment (in-person or online)
Local history and/or archives research? Special Collections / Area Research Center specialists are available!
- Email us at specoll@uwlax.edu
- Call us at 608.785.8511