Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Historical/Archives
Chronicling America (National Digital Newspaper Program) @ Library of Congress
Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). Coverage: 1789-1963. Additional years will be added as the project continues.
Seeks to make it possible to search all the world’s online historic newspapers from one place. It is in development. Use it to search historic digitized newspaper archives from around the globe. Elephind.com is focused on only historical, digitized newspapers. You can search, for free, across many newspaper sites simultaneously, rather than having to visit each site separately. Collections include: Trove [National Library of Australia], California Digital Newspaper Collection [UC Riverside], Chronicling America [US Library of Congress], Indiana Digital Historic Newspaper Program (Indiana State Library), and The Portal to Texas History.
Google Historic Newspapers by name
Google News Archive Search provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. Users can search for events, people or ideas and see how they have been described over time.
National & International News
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. Content includes local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; federal and state cases and statutes; and business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
Daily news content (e.g. USA Today, Washington Post) is delayed; and is available 1-2 days post-publication.
Includes over 35 million full text articles from 860+ newspapers, and over 857,000 TV and radio news transcripts. Sources include: Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, Daily Mail (UK), Irish Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Sydney Morning Herald, Times of London, Toronto Star, USA Today, Washington Post, Washington Times, NPR, AABC News, CBS, CNBC, CBC, Fox News, CNN, and PBS.
Quick Tip: Find News Transcripts
US Newsstream (ProQuest)
Full-text U.S. news content from the 1980s to the present. Coverage includes key national sources such as The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune, as well as local and regional newspapers.
Gale OneFile: News
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection (Gale)
Provides full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books (primarily published in London, with some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and examples from the American colonies) gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
British Library Newspapers (Gale)
Note: This resource was formerly named 19th Century British Newspapers.
Taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library, this collection includes London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism. Coverage: 1800-1900.
This resource includes text from historical periodicals and books including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements and genealogical records. Collections include but are not limited to African American Newspapers, The Civil War Collection, The Pennsylvania Gazette, South Carolina Newspapers, Godey`s Lady`s Book 1830-1898, the Lily, and The Virginia Gazette.
African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives)
This collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 (Readex)
Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Coverage: 1827-1998.
British Newspapers 1600-1900 (Gale)
: To cross search mutiple collections of historical newspapers from Gale, please go to Gale Primary Sources
and select the collections you would like to search by expanding the Product Categories section on the Advanced Search screen.
The Civil War Collection (Accessible Archives)
This collection of newspapers, personal narratives, and regimental histories is divided into seven parts: A Newspaper Perspective; The Soldiers’ Perspective; The Generals’ Perspective; A Midwestern Perspective; Iowa’s Perspective; Northeast Regimental Histories; and Abraham Lincoln Library Abolitionist Books.
America's Historical Newspapers (Readex)
Note: This resource was previously listed as Early American Newspapers.
Search more than 1,400 U.S. historical newspapers from all 50 states published between 1728 and 1999. Search across 7 collections, including African American Newspapers and Early American Newspapers, Series 2 - 7.
Frank Leslie's Weekly (Accessible Archives)
Founded in 1855 and continued until 1922, this was an American illustrated literary and news publication, and one of several started by publisher and illustrator Frank Leslie.
: NewsVault will be retired on Friday, November 20, 2020. To cross-search newspapers on the Gale platform, please use Gale Primary Sources
Cross-search and browse all newspapers available in the Times Digital Archive, Sunday Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
Godey's Lady's Book (Accessible Archives)
This collection provides the complete run of Godey’s Lady’s Book. The magazine was intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America. It contained extensive fashion descriptions and plates, biographical sketches, articles, and sheet music, and gradually evolved into an important literary magazine containing extensive book reviews and works by many celebrated 19th century authors.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index
Online, full-image, and searchable content of The New York Times from September 18, 1851 to the present with a 4-year embargo. Includes articles, advertisements, and political cartoons. Search options include keyword, article type, by date, author, or browse by issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
Online, full-image, and searchable content of The Wall Street Journal from July 8, 1889 to the present with an 18-year embargo. In 1889, Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal as a markets-focused newspaper for shareholders. Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, and consumer affairs. Annual access fees for this resource are paid with Academic Initiative funds.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
Please note: Access to this resource ended on September 1, 2020.
The historical Washington Post (ProQuest) provides full page and article images with searchable full text from December 6, 1877 to the present with a 17-year embargo. It is possible to limit by article type including: classified ad, display ad, editorial cartoon, letter, comic, editorial article, review, stock quote, and weather.
Wisconsin Newspaper Archive
A digital collection of Wisconsin newspapers with coverage going back to 1813.
Newspapers.com World Collection (Ancestry & ProQuest)
This newspaper archive contains searchable, full-page images of over 4000 state, regional, and local newspapers in the United States and other countries from the early 1700s to the 2000s.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Over 28 million articles of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and the Antebellum-era. Newspapers from all 19th-century U.S. states and territories are included.
The Sunday Times (London) Historical Archive (Gale)
The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large since 1822. Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news. Coverage: 1822-2016.
The Times (London) Digital Archive (Gale)
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Coverage: 1785-2012.
The Times Literary Supplement (London) Historical Archive (Gale)
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world’s most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s. Coverage: 1902-2014.
The Virginia Gazette (Accessible Archives)
Published weekly in Williamsburg, Virginia between 1736 and 1780, The Virginia Gazette contained news covering all of Virginia and also included information from other colonies, Scotland, England and additional countries.
Women's Suffrage Collection (Accessible Archives)
This collection covers much of the women's rights movement from the mid-1800s to the early 1900s. It includes newspapers that had some overlap between the temperance and women’s rights movements, as well as an anti-suffrage paper.
Search for News Articles and Transcripts
Local and Regional News
Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers (Wisconsin Newspaper Association)
Formerly known as the Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site, this service provides access to the daily and weekly newspapers in Wisconsin, starting in 2005 to the present, with an embargo delay of 60 days. Through a new partnership between the Wisconsin Newspaper Association (WNA) and BadgerLink, Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site provides access to its 235 daily and weekly member-newspapers. Each addition is covered cover to cover in a PDF, searchable format.
Midwest News Sources (LexisNexis)
Search regional news sources for the Midwestern United States: Illinois, Iowa, Indiana. Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
Regional Business News incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States, including Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
Wisconsin News Sources (LexisNexis)
Search for stories from: Capital Times (Madison), The Daily Reporter (Milwaukee), The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (Milwaukee), Wisconsin Law Journal, Wisconsin State Journal, St. Paul Pioneer Press (Minnesota)