World Cat and LC Classification
Book Reviews
Google scholar
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is essentially made up of scholarly material, some of it will be free or for purchase.
If you find an article but need to pay to access it, copy/paste the title into Murphy Library's main search box on the homepage ("search@uw) and you may be able to access it for free. If not, consider requesting it through InterLibrary Loan.
Annotated Bibliographies and Literature Reviews
Research tips
You can learn about and keep up with the latest research and the top names in a particular field in several ways. Start a list of important authors and scholars in your field. Read bibliographies at the end of articles, chapters and books to expand on important works. You can then create your own bibliography.
Use subject specific databases with our LibGuides that have been compiled by librarians.
Use scholarly search engines such as Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search, where you can search by subject or name.
Use RSS feeds and alerts for instant updates from databases or other news sources.
Follow academic blogs once you identify an author you like to stay updated constantly.
Use e-encyclopedias or hard copy encyclopedias in the reference area for background reading when you are not very familiar with a topic, as well as finding good keywords to then plug into database search boxes.
Use certain general databases, such as these examples, to decide on a topic and/or learn about what the experts are saying, including the lastest research:
- CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into two sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 25,000 encyclopedic entries geared to undergraduate students and lower levels.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (Clarivate) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new windowFully covers over 9,500 scholarly journals across 128 scientific disciplines. Specializes in cited reference searching for comprehensive identification of later works that have cited an article published in one of the covered journals. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection database. Coverage: 1900-present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Clarivate) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new windowFully covers over 1,800 scholarly journals across 28 arts & humanities disciplines. Specializes in cited reference searching for comprehensive identification of later works that have cited an article published in one of the covered journals. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection database. Coverage: 1975-present.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Clarivate) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new windowFully covers over 3,400 journals across 58 social sciences disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 scientific and technical journals. Specializes in cited reference searching for comprehensive identification of later works that have cited an article published in one of the covered journals. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection database. Coverage: 1900-present.
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (Clarivate) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new windowFully covers over 7,800 scholarly journals across 254 disciplines, including publications of regional importance and newer journals not yet qualifying for inclusion in Clarivate's main citation indexes. Specializes in cited reference searching for comprehensive identification of later works that have cited an article published in one of the covered journals. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection database. Coverage: 2005-present.
InterLibrary Loan and UW System Resource Sharing
- UW System Resource Sharinganywhere within the UW System
UWL Books & Media
Popular vs. Scholarly Information
After this lesson, you should be able to:
- Distinguish between popular and scholarly information
- Identify situations when it would be appropriate to use each type of information
Video from Vanderbilt University-Peabody Library (3min)
Video from Cornell University (2min)
Video from Kimbel University (3min)