Getting Started with RSS Feeds
How do I find Feeds?
Look for these RSS symbols which indicate available RSS feeds. Journal publishers, newspapers, blogs, and article databases frequently provide RSS feed capabilities to help you keep up with the latest news, tables of contents, or new citations added to databases search results.
What is RSS?
RSS stands for really simple syndication. An RSS (utilizing XML) feed allows you to pull updated information from a website or a library database without having to visit each time. An RSS feed may contain new blog posts, updated news headlines from a newspaper, citations matching a search query in a library database, or anywhere you see the RSS icon: 
. Steven M. Adams, Princeton University Libraries, has a nice analogy for RSS: Tivo for the Internet. What do you do with an RSS feed? Most people read their feeds through a feed reader or aggregator. Some of the most popular feed readers include: BlogLines, Google Reader, NetVibes, NetNewsWire (Mac), and NewsGator.
Here is a list of the top 5 from LifeHacker.
RSS in Plain English
Search & Journal Alerts: Why & How
- Search Alert for an RSS Reader
1. Go to EBSCO database of choice, 2. Run Search, 3. Click Alert/Share/Save, 4. Click "Create Alert", 5. Adjust alert settings, then copy link and add to your RSS feed account.
What and Why?
Receive alerts daily, weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly for a specific search or journal. Alerts save you the time of remembering what that great search was and bring new results to you. For journals, alerts are great way of learning what's been recently published.
How to...
The following videos show how to create an alert link for your RSS reader account and how to receive e-mail alerts.
- How to Create a My EBSCO AccountTo create an e-mail alert, you'll need to create a My EBSCO account. This video shows you how.
- How to Edit, Delete Existing Alerts Prerequisites: My EBSCO Account and existing alerts*. 1. Go to any EBSCO database, 2. Login to "My EBSCO Account", 3. Click "Folder" in upper-right, 4. Use navigation links on left to access search/journal alerts, etc.
- Journal Alert for an RSS Reader1. Go to EBSCO database of choice, 2. Locate Journal, 3. Click the orange RSS feed square, 4. Copy RSS feed link and add to your RSS feed account.
- Journal Alert for E-mail Delivery Prerequisite: My EBSCO Account*. 1. Go to EBSCO database of choice, 2. Locate Journal, 3. Click the orange RSS feed square, 4. Login to "My EBSCO Account", 5. Adjust feed settings, 6. Click "Create Alert"
- Search Alert for E-mail Delivery Prerequisite: My EBSCO Account*. 1. Go to EBSCO database of choice, 2. Run Search, 3. Click Alert/Share/Save, 4. Click "Create Alert", 5. Login to "My EBSCO Account", 6. Adjust feed settings, 7. Click "Create Alert"