Getting Help
- Reference ServicesReference librarians can help you find the quality information you need, and save you time in the process!
History of the FDLP
Materials in Temporary Storage
Due to the flooding event of August 2021, the basement of Murphy Library is currently closed.
Government Documents collections housed in the basement, including Federal government documents, Wisconsin government documents, and the Map Room Map Collection, are safe but currently in storage and not available for use.
We currently estimate that the government documents collections will become available again around January 2025, once materials have been returned to the shelves and the basement is reopened.
The library's first and second floor remain open, and government documents held on microform remain available.
The library remains open to the public for access to online government information, and librarians remain available to assist with accessing and using government information sources.
Further details at https://www.uwlax.edu/murphylibrary/news/update-library-basement-closed/
Government Information at Murphy Library
As a government depository library Murphy Library offers an extensive collection of government information resources which can be identified, and also accessed if it's an online resource, through the Library Catalog:
- Murphy Library CatalogThe catalog of the collections of UWL's Murphy Library, with around 1 million items listed. Many items are accessed online, while others are available in the library building (and can usually be borrowed from the library). All items were selected with UWL students/faculty/staff in mind!
The Catalog can limit search results to government documents, but that function only includes print format documents, and omits documents that are online or held on microform. To comprehensively find government documents in the Catalog you can instead include the following in your search:
"government publishing office" OR "government printing office" OR gpo OR "g.p.o."
This guide highlights some of the most important government information resources and finding tools used at UW-La Crosse.
Research Assistance
Librarians can help you learn to make the most of the information resources, tools, and services of Murphy Library and beyond!
Weekdays & Sunday afternoons (fall/spring):
Any time (year-round):
- Email us -- we'll email you back asap
- Schedule an appointment (in-person or online)
Local history and/or archives research? Special Collections / Area Research Center specialists are available!
- Email us at specoll@uwlax.edu
- Call us at 608.785.8511