Researching sustainable industries
When it comes to researching industries, whether or not they are sustainable, and what their sustainability practices might be, you will need to compile information from several resources in order to create a complete picture. You will use the resources listed on this page to find industry reports, articles, and news sources.
Article Searching
Search tips - The sources below (which include both business as well as environmental studies databases) can be useful for finding information about industry practices, as well as general information on sustainability and social responsibility.
To find more information on this topic, try searching in these databases for an industry and the terms "social responsibility", "green marketing", "ethics", "environmental auditing", or use other search terms related to the environment.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowThis database includes full text for over 2,300 business journals, including over a thousand peer-reviewed titles. Non-journal full text includes: market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowNote: This resource has replaced Business Premium Collection. It contains all of the content previously found in Business Premium Collection and also incorporates business books from ProQuest Ebook Central.
Provides indexing and selected full text for thousands of business sources, including scholarly and trade journals, reports (e.g., company, country, industry, SWOT), working papers, dissertations, books, videos, and news sources such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and The Economist. - Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Includes nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. - GreenFILE (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes citations for scholarly, government, and popular articles in areas of agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics include climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. This resource is provided free of charge by EBSCOhost.
- Environment Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowThis databases includes articles from nearly 2,000 domestic and international journals on environmental studies as related to agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy use and renewable energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Industry Reports
These databases are the best first-stops for overviews on industries.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry market research reports for over 1,300 United States industries, each updated 1 to 4 times per year. NAICS and specialized (new/emerging) industry reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. NAICS industry reports additionally include Industry Financial Ratios.
- Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains in-depth business information organized by company, industry, and country. Content includes case studies, market research reports, news articles, interactive comparison charts, and major reference works such as Market Share Reporter, International Directory of Company Histories, Brands and Their Companies, and Business Rankings Annual. - ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowNote: This resource has replaced Business Premium Collection. It contains all of the content previously found in Business Premium Collection and also incorporates business books from ProQuest Ebook Central.
Provides indexing and selected full text for thousands of business sources, including scholarly and trade journals, reports (e.g., company, country, industry, SWOT), working papers, dissertations, books, videos, and news sources such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and The Economist.
News sources
These are the top resources that cover news about your company's sustainability activities. They also provide articles about industry practices. Use these to help get a sense of the public opinion of a company or industry from a sustainability perspective.
- US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowU.S. news content from nearly 1400 sources including newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from the 1980s to the present. U.S. Major Dailies featured: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune. Local/regional newspapers include: Wisconsin State Journal (Madison), Capital Times (Madison), Star Tribune. Also: Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, ProPublica
- New York Times (NYTimes.com Academic Pass)
- This link opens in a new window
UWL students, faculty and staff can set up an Academic Pass to use the NYTimes.com website or News App. Learn how to activate, use or renew your NYTimes.com Academic Pass.
Academic Pass users have unlimited access to archived articles outside the 1923–1980 date range. Each day of their pass, users may access up to five complimentary articles published between the years 1923 through 1980. Passes do not include e-reader editions, Times Premier content or New York Times Games, New York Times Cooking or The Athletic. - Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com)UWL students, faculty and staff can set up a sponsored individual subscription to use the WSJ.com website or App. Learn how to activate and use your WSJ.com subscription.
Subscriptions include full access to WSJ.com articles, blogs, videos and press releases from the last four years.
