Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Murphy Library News & Updates
America: History and Life (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Over 1,700 journals are indexed from as far back as 1910.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines with coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
HeritageQuest Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
HeritageQuest Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources including primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. This resource includes six core data sets: U.S. Federal Census records (1790-1940), Genealogy and local history books, Revolutionary War records, Periodical Source Index (PERSI) Archive (1800-2009), Freedman’s Bank Records, and U.S. Serial Set records.
Note: Authenticated by BadgerLink. If you are off-campus, you may need to enter your Wisconsin library card ID.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 2,300 history journals. Covers world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Note: This resource is limited to 6 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines. Coverage: varies. Collections include: Arts and Science I - XV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences V - XIV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition. Access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection is made possible by the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition.
Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of over 300 scholarly journals in the fields of: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Research Tools for Students
Help is Available - Ask a Librarian