Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In addition to offering quality scholarly and clinical health information in support of health professions and health education/promotion education at UWL, Murphy Library also maintains a collection of scholarly and consumer health information resources for health concerns that may be of particular interest to college students.
This guide highlights several consumer health information databases, plus books and e-books from the library's reference collection.
Consumer Health Information Databases
AHFS Consumer Medication Information (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Includes full text for 200 health reference books as well as evidence-based health results, drug patient education sheets, medical images and diagrams, over 800 physician-generated videos on general, women's, and men's health; healthy aging; consumer health pamphlets; full text from over 500 consumer health periodicals; and over 240 animations.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Nearly 30 active magazines, 100 reference books, more than 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports, and current health pamphlets. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive consumer health resource provides access to authoritative information on hundreds of health-related topics. Content includes full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more.
Encyclopedias on Specific Health Concerns
The library has many additional print and online information resources related to health concerns of college students beyond those highlighted here. Ask a librarian!
Other Library and Campus resources
Help is Available - Ask a Librarian