Welcome
In addition to offering quality scholarly and clinical health information in support of health professions and health education/promotion education at UWL, Murphy Library also maintains a collection of scholarly and consumer health information resources for health concerns that may be of particular interest to college students.
This guide highlights several consumer health information databases, plus books and e-books from the library's reference collection.
Consumer Health Information Databases
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowA trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.
- Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowHealth and wellness information from: 480+ journals and magazines, 2,600+ evidence-based reports (Great Neck Health), nearly 500 images and diagrams (Nucleus Medical), 470+ encyclopedias and other reference sources, 240+ animations (Blausen Medical), government pamphlets (CDC, FDA, NIH and more), ASHP Patient Medication Information, Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowNearly 30 active magazines, 100 reference books, more than 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports, and current health pamphlets. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
- Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive consumer health resource provides access to authoritative information on hundreds of health-related topics. Content includes full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more.
Encyclopedias on Specific Health Concerns
The library has many additional print and online information resources related to health concerns of college students beyond those highlighted here. Ask a librarian!
Principles of Health: Anxiety & Stress by Call Number: BF575.S75 P75 2020 ReferenceISBN: 9781642656992
Alcohol and Drugs in North America by Call Number: HV5017 .A43 2013 ReferenceISBN: 9781598844788v.1-2
The Encyclopedia of Alcoholism and Alcohol Abuse by Call Number: HV5017 .G65 2010 ReferenceISBN: 9780816077090
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Call Number: HV5804 .E53 2001 ReferenceISBN: 0028655419Publication Date: 20002nd ed.
4 volumes
Addiction : a reference encyclopedia by Call Number: HV5825 .P26 2010 ReferenceISBN: 9781598842296Publication Date: 2010
The Encyclopedia of Suicide by Call Number: HV6545 .E87 2003 ReferenceISBN: 0816045259Publication Date: 20032nd ed.
Sexual Violence and Abuse by Call Number: HV6556 .S447 2013 ReferenceISBN: 9781598847550Publication Date: 2013v.1-2
Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence by Call Number: HV6558 .E53 2018 ReferenceISBN: 9781440844898v.1-2
Digital Literacy: Skills & Strategies by Call Number: QA76.9.C64 D55 2022 ReferenceISBN: 9781637003923
The Encyclopedia of Men's Health by Call Number: RA777.8 .R68 2005eb ONLINEISBN: 081606640XPublication Date: 2005
The Encyclopedia of Women's Health by Call Number: RA778 .A494 2009 ReferenceISBN: 9780816074075Publication Date: 20096th ed.
The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health by Call Number: RA778 .C2164 2004 ReferenceISBN: 0674012828Publication Date: 2004
Salem Health : Nutrition by Call Number: RA784 .N88 2016 ReferenceISBN: 9781682171356First edition.
v. 1-3
Sexually Transmitted Disease: : an encyclopedia of diseases, prevention, treatment, and issues by Call Number: RC200.1 .S468 2014 ReferenceISBN: 9781440801341v.1-2
Mental Health and Mental Disorders by Call Number: RC437 .M47 2016 ReferenceISBN: 9781440803826v.1-3
Encyclopedia of Depression by Call Number: RC537 .A567 2010 ReferenceISBN: 9780313353666Publication Date: 2010v.1-2
The Encyclopedia of Sleep and Sleep Disorders by Call Number: RC547 .Y34 2001 ReferenceISBN: 9780816068333Publication Date: 20093rd ed.
Eating Disorders by Call Number: RC552.E18 E28216 2013 ReferenceISBN: 9781440800580Publication Date: 2013
Addictions, substance abuse & alcoholism by Call Number: RC564 .A295 2018 ReferenceISBN: 9781682179444Second edition.
v.1-2
Other Library and Campus resources
Research Assistance
Librarians can help you learn to make the most of the information resources, tools, and services of Murphy Library and beyond!
Weekdays & Sunday afternoons (fall/spring):
Any time (year-round):
- Email us -- we'll email you back asap
- Schedule an appointment (in-person or online)
Local history and/or archives research? Special Collections / Area Research Center specialists are available!
- Email us at specoll@uwlax.edu
- Call us at 608.785.8511