Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The first group of databases is the core list for this subject.
Search@UW will look at the following databases: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, OneFile (Gale), JSTOR, Project Muse, and others.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online includes access to The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Combined, these resources cover every aspect of the music world including bibliographies on composers and musicians and hundreds of carefully selected and classified links to international musical sites.
Note: This resource is limited to 3 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later.
Music Index (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Formerly The Music Index Online by Harmonie Park Press, Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. In addition to journal articles, it provides citations for book reviews, obituaries and news articles. Coverage: 1970-present.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. Includes full, study, piano, and vocal scores.
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online This link opens in a new window
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online is an orchestral music finder tool that contains records of over 11,000 works by more than 1,600 composers. Advanced search options include information such as duration, instrumentation, chorus type, and soloists.
Please Note: This resource does not work correctly in the Internet Explorer browser.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. While the collection primarily consists of classical pieces, it also includes a selection of jazz, world, and pop/rock music. Text resources, including overviews of music history, program notes for recordings, and the complete libretti of operas, are also available. Follow these instructions
to create your own playlists in Naxos Music Library.
: This resource is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
This resource covers drama, music, art history, and filmmaking, with full text of over 250 journals indexed in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM).
Music Online: African American Music Reference (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of essays, images, liner notes and more covering blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. Includes biographies of 185 African American composers.
Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Vogue provides a record of American and international popular culture; it is a unique primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history. Marketing students can research the history of a brand identity by viewing every advertisement for a brand such as Revlon, Coty, Versace or Chanel between specified dates. Researchers in cultural studies and gender studies can explore themes such as body image, gender roles and social tastes from the 1890s to the present. The latest issue will be added each month with no embargo period. Users can search through all text, captions, and titles throughout the magazine, including advertisements, covers and fold-outs.
Newspapers & News Sources - LibGuide
When searching for information about premiere performances of musical compositions, you may find reviews and context in the newspapers of the time
The following databases, while not focusing exclusively on music, may also be useful.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including over 7,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. for a variety of disciplines.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index that is a part of the Web of Science Core Collection
. It fully covers over 1,700 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as indexing individually selected, relevant items from over 6,000 major science and social science journals. It can also be used to find other articles citing a specific article (footnotes in reverse). Coverage: 1975-present.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database indexes and provides selected full text for thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources across many academic disciplines. Subjects covered include the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and literature.
eBook Collection @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Includes over 13,000 books on a broad variety of topics.
Humanities International Complete (Whitston Publishing) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This resource includes full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Citations and abstracts are included from over 2,300 journals with full text for more than 1,200. Major subject areas include literature, philosophy, the arts, history, and culture, with a special emphasis on literature and the literary arts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines. Coverage: varies. Collections include: Arts and Science I - XV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences V - XIV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition. Access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection is made possible by the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 70 encyclopedias and reference titles covering a variety of subjects.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
A union catalog of the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide (including UW-Madison but NOT including UWL or other UW libraries), with listings for more than 670 million books and other items. Books and other materials identified in WorldCat can be requested using Interlibrary Loan