Helpful Websites
Smithsonian Magazine. Use the search box located in the top right hand corner of the page and narrow down your results to articles only.
Science.gov. This website is a gateway to government science information and research results. Currently in its fifth generation, Science.gov provides a search of over 60 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2200 scientific Websites
Murphy Library Math Databases
- MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts more than 3100 periodicals and more than 7500 books, conference proceedings, theses, and technical reports from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Please view these MathSciNet tutorials on how to get the most out of searching.
Please note: MathSciNet is also available via EBSCOhost.
Key Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database containing full-text academic journals, magazines and periodicals plus reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline. Includes thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences from nearly 1,200 publishers. Thanks to both the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition for providing access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection.
Scholarly or Popular?
Determining if a source is scholarly or popular is an important step in the research process. Use the information below - as well as the information on the rest of this page to help guide you.
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles Checklist [PDF]
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals [VIDEO]
Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-Scholarly. A guide from Cornell University
Librarian
Journal Subscriptions
- Mathematics and Statistics JournalsBrowse current mathematics and statistics journals available through Murphy Library.