Student Funded Resources and Services
The resources and services described on this page are funded by UWL students through Academic Initiatives differential tuition.
Funding recommendations are made by the Academic Initiatives Differential Allocation Committee, a standing committee of the Student Senate (UW-La Crosse Student Association).
Expanded Hours
Students have consistently requested longer hours, especially later weeknight hours and expanded weekend hours. Thanks to Academic Initiatives, the library was able to address this need by adding 4 evening and weekend hours per week to its schedule of open hours.
The expanded open times will be in effect every week during the regular semester, not including holidays and semester breaks.
The hours that have been added due to student funding are:
-
Sunday: 11:00 a.m.– midnight
-
Monday –Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - midnight
-
Friday: 7:30 a.m.- 7:00 p.m.
-
Saturday: 10:00 a.m.-7:00 p.m.
Please note that these are general building hours and do not reflect hours for all departments within the library.
For a complete list of hours, including holidays, special hours, semester breaks, and specific library departments, please visit the complete Library Hours page.
Databases, E-journals, and Reference Works
The following is an alphabetical list of resources partially or fully funded by students through AIDAC.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database containing full-text academic journals, magazines and periodicals plus reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline. Includes thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America. - Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Criminal Justice Database (formerly ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index or CJPI) is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
- Gale Access Program
- This link opens in a new window
The Gale Access Program is a large collection of databases covering a wide range of subjects. This link takes you to a library guide where you can find a full list of databases included in the subscription. - JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association)
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse all issues going back to July 1883. - JSTOR Arts & Sciences V-XV, Life Sciences, and Business IV
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over hundreds of scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines. Coverage: varies. - Kanopy
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video platform that contains independent and documentary films on a wide variety of subjects. - New York Times (NYTimes.com Academic Pass)
- This link opens in a new window
UWL students, faculty and staff can set up an Academic Pass to use the NYTimes.com website or News App. Learn how to activate, use or renew your NYTimes.com Academic Pass.
Academic Pass users have unlimited access to archived articles outside the 1923–1980 date range. Each day of their pass, users may access up to five complimentary articles published between the years 1923 through 1980. Passes do not include e-reader editions, Times Premier content or New York Times Games, New York Times Cooking or The Athletic. - Oxford English Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online includes access to The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Combined, these resources cover every aspect of the music world including bibliographies on composers and musicians and hundreds of carefully selected and classified links to international musical sites.
Note: This resource is limited to 3 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later. - ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2,500 journals and 11,000 books published by Elsevier in the areas of health & life Sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral Sciences. Thanks to funding by academic initiatives, we now have the "complete" collection, which includes pre-1995 Journal Content with deep coverage available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 and practically all Elsevier online books, including Major Reference Works, Books Series, Handbooks, eBooks Front lists and Back lists back to 1995. - The Sunday Times (London) Historical Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large since 1822. Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news. Coverage: 1822-2016. - Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vogue provides a record of American and international popular culture; it is a unique primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history. Marketing students can research the history of a brand identity by viewing every advertisement for a brand such as Revlon, Coty, Versace or Chanel between specified dates. Researchers in cultural studies and gender studies can explore themes such as body image, gender roles and social tastes from the 1890s to the present. The latest issue will be added each month with no embargo period. Users can search through all text, captions, and titles throughout the magazine, including advertisements, covers and fold-outs. - The Times Literary Supplement (London) Historical Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world’s most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s. Coverage: 1902-2019.
Research Assistance
Librarians can help you learn to make the most of the information resources, tools, and services of Murphy Library and beyond!
Weekdays & Sunday afternoons (fall/spring):
Any time (year-round):
- Email us -- we'll email you back asap
- Schedule an appointment (in-person or online)
Local history and/or archives research? Special Collections / Area Research Center specialists are available!
- Email us at specoll@uwlax.edu
- Call us at 608.785.8511