Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text U.S. news content from the 1980s to the present. Coverage includes key national sources such as The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune, as well as local and regional newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Daily news content (e.g. USA Today, Washington Post) is delayed; and is available 1-2 days post-publication.
Includes over 35 million full text articles from 860+ newspapers, and over 857,000 TV and radio news transcripts. Sources include: Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, Daily Mail (UK), Irish Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Sydney Morning Herald, Times of London, Toronto Star, USA Today, Washington Post, Washington Times, NPR, AABC News, CBS, CNBC, CBC, Fox News, CNN, and PBS.
Quick Tip: Find News Transcripts
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is a full-text database that includes essays covering multiple sides of a current issue. 343 topics are included, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument),counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. In addition to essays, articles from political magazines different points of view, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books are included.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together pro and con viewpoint articles from the Greenhaven Press book series, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, hundreds of primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more. In addition, it has thousands of links to reviewed and subject-indexed websites and podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs. Access to this resource is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into two sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.