Reference Sources
Generally, reference works contain collected brief information centered around a theme, as compiled by credentialed experts in the field. They are generally designed to start a research project off on solid footing, with basic backgrounds, overviews, or statistics to help guide your next steps.
The sources listed here were selected for help investigating world cultural regions, especially if given a cultural item (film, music, food, cultural practice, etc.) To find more sources like these try Reference Universe (below), try the Library Catalog, or ask a librarian!
Reference Universe
- Reference Universe (Paratext) This link opens in a new windowA single, centralized access point to much of Murphy Library's reference collection (online and print subject encyclopedias, handbooks, compendia), allowing you to deeply search within the collection through tables of contents and actual back of the book indexes. Link directly into the work if available online. Covers 5,400 titles held by Murphy Library, and about 45,000 reference works total. Tutorial video
Foods
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by Call Number: GT2850 .F666 2011 ReferenceISBN: 9780313376269
World Food: an Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and social Influence from Hunter-gatherers to the Age of Globalizaiton by Call Number: TX349 .S66 2013 ReferenceISBN: 9780765682789
Music
Hip Hop Around the World: an Encyclopedia by Call Number: ML102.R27 H56 2019 ReferenceISBN: 9780313357596v.1-2
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Call Number: Reference ML100 .G16 1998ISBN: 0824060350Publication Date: 199710 volumes
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by Call Number: Reference ML102.P66 C66 2003ISBN: 0826463215Publication Date: 20037 volumes
Cultures by Regions
Africa : an encyclopedia of culture and society by Call Number: DT14 .A3415 2016 ReferenceISBN: 9781598846652Publication Date: 2016v.1-3
Brazil Today: an encyclopedia of life in the republic by Call Number: F2504 ONLINEISBN: 0313346739Publication Date: 2012v.1-2
Capital Cities Around the World: an encyclopedia of geography, history, and culture by Call Number: G140 .C93 2013 ReferenceISBN: 9781610692472
Countries, Peoples and Cultures (Complete Nine Volume Set) by Call Number: GN307 .C687 2015 ReferenceISBN: 9781619258006v. 1-9
Countries and Their Cultures by Call Number: GN307 .C68 2001 ReferenceISBN: 0028649508Publication Date: 2001-05-23v.1-v.4
Cultural Atlas of Russia and the Former Soviet Union by Call Number: DK32 .M62 1998 ReferenceISBN: 0816038155Rev. ed.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russian Culture by Call Number: DK510.32 .E53 2007 Ref.ISBN: 9780415320948Publication Date: 2007The Encyclopedia of World Cultures by
Call Number: Reference GN550 .E53 1991ISBN: 0816118086Publication Date: 199110 volumes.
Mexico Today : an encyclopedia of life in the republic by Call Number: F1210 ONLINEISBN: 9780313349492Publication Date: 2012v.1-2
The Middle East: a guide to politics, economics, society, and culture by Call Number: DS44 ONLINEISBN: 9780765630667v.1-2
Native Peoples of the World: an Encylopedia of Groups, Cultures and Contemporary Issues by Call Number: GN380 .N383 2013 ReferenceISBN: 9780765682222v.1-3
Film
Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema by Call Number: Reference PN1993.5.M53 G56 2010ISBN: 9780810860902
Historical Dictionary of Spanish Cinema by Call Number: PN1993.5.S7 M553 2010 ReferenceISBN: 9780810859579Publication Date: 2010-04-28- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers by Call Number: PN1997.8 .I58 1990 ReferenceISBN: 1558620370Second edition.
v.1-5 - Magill's Survey of Cinema, Foreign Language Films by Call Number: PN1995.9.F67 M34 1985 ReferenceISBN: 0893562432v.1-8
- Magill's Survey of Cinema, English Language Films, First Series by Call Number: PN1993.45 .M3 1980 ReferenceISBN: 0893562254v.1-4
- Magill's Survey of Cinema, English Language Films, Second Series by Call Number: PN1993.45 .M32 1981 ReferenceISBN: 0893562300v.1-6
Cultural Practices
The A-Z of Death and Dying : social, medical, and cultural aspects by Call Number: HQ1073 .A22 2014 ReferenceISBN: 9781440803437
Beauty Around the World: a cultural encyclopedia by Call Number: GT499 .K46 2017 ReferenceISBN: 9781610699440
Diets and dieting : a cultural encyclopedia by Call Number: RM214.5 .G55 2009 ReferenceISBN: 9780415801935
Etiquette and Taboos Around the World : a geographic encyclopedia of social and cultural customs by Call Number: BJ1815 .E86 2017 ReferenceISBN: 9781440838200
Gold : a cultural encyclopedia by Call Number: GT5170 .V46 2011ISBN: 9780313384301Publication Date: 2011
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary by Call Number: GT3925 .H64 2010 ReferenceISBN: 9780780809949Fourth edition.
The International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society by Call Number: HM851 ONLINEISBN: 9781118767771Publication Date: 2015v.1-3
Marriage Family and Relationships : a cross-cultural encyclopedia by Call Number: GN480 .B76 1994 ReferenceISBN: 0874367360Publication Date: 1995
Oil : a cultural and geographic encyclopedia of black gold by Call Number: TN865 .O42 2014 ReferenceISBN: 9781610692717v.1-2
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture by Call Number: HQ76.96 .R68 2011 ReferenceISBN: 9780415569668Pbk. ed.
