Research Help
Librarians can help you learn to make the most of the information resources, tools, and services of Murphy Library and beyond!
Weekdays & Sunday afternoons (fall/spring):
Any time (year-round):
- Email us -- we'll email you back asap
- Schedule an appointment (in-person or online)
Local history and/or archives research? Special Collections / Area Research Center specialists are available!
- Email us at specoll@uwlax.edu
- Call us at 608.785.8511
Welcome
This guide was prepared by the library in collaboration with the Center for Advancing Teaching and Learning (CATL). The lists below connect readers to journals that publish in the field of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL).
Research in SoTL involves instructors (sometimes in association with their students) conducting systematic investigation into student learning for the purpose of advancing the practice of their teaching. Findings are reviewed and then shared with the public, often concluding with an actionable change that can be made in curriculum or in the classroom.
When accessing the full text of articles in these journals, sometimes PDF or HTML of the item will be available in entirety, but other times, you will need to click on the 
button in the databases housing the journal articles to find your access options. From there, articles not held by Murphy Library can be conveniently requested through InterLibrary Loan.
SoTL Journals
- Kennesaw State University Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL)This document lists SoTL journals; use the Control + F (or Command + F on a Mac) keyboard shortcut to search for journals by discipline or by issue in higher education. Kennesaw State University's CETL now offers a website with a searchable directory as well.
- University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Center for Faculty Excellence (CFE)Attached PDF lists journals covering SoTL topics, arranged by discipline.
- McMaster University MacPherson Institute for Leadership, Innovation, and Excellence in TeachingDocument does not divide journals by discipline, but offers an extensive list of general/interdisciplinary publications in SoTL.
Browse Education Journals with BrowZine
Note: this is not a list of all Murphy Library's holdings. Browse the PDFs on the "Searching for Journals" tab for even more journals that publish in this discipline, and use Murphy's Journal Search to see if we subscribe to ones that interest you! If there is a publication for which Murphy Library does not provide access, you can file a request for a purchase.
Databases & Library Guides
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 520 journals geared towards professional educators. Over 700 titles are indexed and abstracted, including 350 peer-reviewed titles. Titles include Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education Research, and many more.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowThis database includes citations and abstracts from more than 200 peer-reviewed education journals on topics such as assessment, best practices, continuing education, instructional media, school administration, and teacher education.
Popular Journals
- Active Learning in Higher EducationActive Learning in Higher Education is an international, refereed publication for all those who teach and support learning in Higher Education and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges.
- Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education"Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education publishes papers, reports and research on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within higher education." (from publisher)
- College Teaching"College Teaching provides an interdisciplinary academic forum on issues in teaching and learning at the undergraduate or graduate level." (from publisher) Earlier title: Improving College and University Teaching
- Educational Forum"Publishes international research on education, encouraging the advancement and transformation of teaching and learning for educators." (from publisher)
- Higher Education"Higher Education is a leading international journal dedicated to advancing knowledge in the field of higher education studies. Established in 1972, the journal publishes twelve issues annually, reporting on educational developments in universities, polytechnics, colleges, and vocational institutions worldwide, encompassing both public and private sectors." (from publisher)
- Innovations in Education and Teaching International"Promotes innovation and good practice in higher education and post-school education through staff and educational development and subject-related practices." (from publisher)
- Innovative Higher Education"Innovative Higher Education features research on current innovations and provocative new ideas with relevance for action for higher education institutions, including innovations at the organization and policy level as well as innovations that improve diversity, equity, and inclusion in higher education." (from publisher)
- Journal of Effective TeachingAn open access electronic peer-reviewed journal that advances the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) focused on institutions of higher education.
- Journal of Faculty Development"The Journal of Faculty Development, founded in 1983, is an independent, peer-reviewed journal. Issued three times per year, it is a medium for the exchange of information regarding faculty development in post-secondary educational institutions." (from publisher)
- Journal of Teacher Education"The mission of the Journal of Teacher Education, the flagship journal of AACTE, is to serve as a research forum for a diverse group of scholars invested in the preparation and continued support of teachers who can have a significant voice in discussions and decision-making." (from publisher)
- Teaching and Learning InquiryOpen access. Aims to feature original research and commentary on the scholarship of teaching and learning in higher education.
- Teaching in Higher Education"Critical and theorised research in higher education teaching practice and policy for an international audience, spanning pedagogy, curriculum and assessment." (from publisher)