Journals & Databases
Journal Subscriptions
Below are listed a few databases that contain peer-reviewed journal articles. For a more comprehensive list of databases relevant to your discipline, check out the Public Health and Community Health Education subject guide.
Essential databases provide broad access to published literature. Sometimes, the full text of an article is contained in a database, but other times, you will click on the 
button to find access options for an article. From there, articles not held by Murphy Library can be conveniently requested through InterLibrary Loan or Resource Sharing.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCovers over 4,600 nursing and allied health journals, with full-text articles from more than 350 active, non-open access journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. Also covers health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. Contains continuing education modules, research instruments records, evidence-based care sheets, and quick lessons as well.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed from the National Library of Medicine, covering more than 5,200 scholarly biomedical and life sciences journals published around the world. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). PubMed "Ahead of Print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE indexed journal are also included in this version.
- ERIC (Institute of Education Sciences) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowFrom the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education. Full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
- APA PsycInfo (American Psychological Association) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowCovers 2,400 journals as well as book chapters and dissertations in psychology and from related behavioral and social sciences including: artificial intelligence, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, political science, social work, sociology, sports
BrowZine can be a great place for getting to know journals within a discipline. Other than Public Health and the subjects listed within, you might be interested in the Health and Social Welfare Policy category.
A few popular journals in BrowZine: