Goals for Session:
In today's session, I hope to teach you about the following in order to make your use of the Library's vast resources more productive.
Tools:
- Librarians (Human Search Engines)
- Google vs. Library - Pro's/Cons
- Finding Articles (guides/databases)
- Catalog & UW System
- Library Software (LibX & Full-text)
- What Else is at Murphy Library
Books
Books can be located in the Library Catalog under the following subjects or can be found by going to shelves and looking under the call numbers:
- Dancing GV1580-1790
- Diet TY361-641
- Diet & Nutrition RM214-224
- Exercise, Weight Control RA781-784
- Games & Amusements GV1199-1570
- Kinesiology & Corrective Therapy RD795-811
- Motor Learning/Sense & Sensation BF231-299
- Movements QP303-348
- Nutrition QP141-285
- Physical Education and Training GV201-555
- Physiology QP1-139
- Recreation GV1-199
- Rehabilitation & Physical Therapy RM695-845
- Sports GV557-1198
- Sports Medicine RC1200-1245
- Murphy Library Catalog with UW System Resource Sharing ListingsOver 9 million unique items and over 17 million volumes listed. UWL students/faculty/staff can request to borrow items to pick up at Murphy Library within 2-4 days. This service is called "UW System Resource Sharing".
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowA union catalog of the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide (including UW-Madison but NOT including UWL or other UW libraries), with listings for more than 670 million books and other items. Books and other materials identified in WorldCat can be requested using Interlibrary Loan.
Suggested Databases to Find Articles
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database containing full-text academic journals, magazines and periodicals plus reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline. Includes thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts to periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers. Includes full text for 530 journals. Topics covered include sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, and physical education.
Note: This resource is limited to 4 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later. - MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine & EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEssentially equivalent to PubMed from the National Library of Medicine, but with full text for select journals. Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Over 4,800 current biomedical journals are indexed; full text for 1,470 journals. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Incorporates PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, AIDSLINE & more.
PowerPoint
Library tools that make your life easier.
- ESS Fall/Spring 2019This is a PowerPoint from today's presentation that can be used to refresh your understanding of what we learned today.
