Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CHM 271 Bhattacharyya, fall 2020: Chemistry And Biochemistry

Starting Points

Dictionaries

Can be helpful in formulating effecting database search strategies by revealing terminology used by specialists.

Encyclopedias

A good, specialized, scholarly encyclopedia contains many relatively brief entries that can serve as a perfect introduction to a topic.  Each article is written by a recognized, credentialed expert.  Also, entries generally conclude with a current bibliography also compiled by that subject expert, recommending some of the most important publications ever produced on that particular topic.  This can be a highly-effective and time-saving way to launch your own literature review.

Handbooks

The CRC Handbook is the main one, but Murphy Library holds several others as well (Lange's, Dean's, etc.).  See the Chemistry/Biochemistry subject guide for more.

Books

  • Chemistry: QD
  • Biochemistry: QP512, QP514.2, and also scattered elsewhere under QP (physiology)
  • Find books: Library Catalog / UW-La Crosse Books & Media, UW System, WorldCat + interlibrary loan

Current Topics in Chemistry

Journal Subscriptions

REAXYS: Chemical Information & Literature Review

SCIFINDER: Chemical Information & Literature Review

SciFinder Exercises

1.     Look up the article titled “Circadian Rhythms of Women with Fibromyalgia”.  Why are there two entries for this article?  Use the Remove Duplicates Tool so that the article is only listed once.   Can you link to the full text PDF version of this article?

2.     Look up the article, written in 1999 by Lazaro and others, on: labeling experiments with photocyanation of aromatic compounds.  Click on the title of the article to see the full reference information about it.  What do the Link, Save, Print, and Export functions do?  According to the Get Citing button, how many times has this article been cited by others since it was published in 1999?  When was it cited most recently?  Are the articles listed by Get Citing on topics similar to the 1999 Lazaro article?  What is the difference between Get Citing and Get Cited?

3.     How many articles by researchers associated with the Univeresity of Wisconsin-La Crosse can you find that have something to do with antibiotics?

4.     Save several of the articles you found into a "saved answer set".  Now view your Saved Answer Set (link at far upper-right).  What can you do with Saved Answer Sets?

ChemDraw - Chemical structure drawing and analysis software

Thanks to the UWL Chemistry department, ChemDraw is available on computers in computer classrooms and labs.

As a UWL student/faculty/staff member, you can also install ChemDraw on your own computer (PC or Mac), starting from the following link.

Guides to the literature