Chemistry and Biochemistry (SUBJECT GUIDE): Home

Note: SciFinderⁿ has replaced the old SciFinder platform. To access this database, you must first create a user account using your UWL e-mail.
Collection of databases: CAS REGISTRY (>200 million chemical substances and sequences), CAplus (Chemical Abstracts index to chemistry literature since 1907 with some earlier coverage), CASREACT (>100 million reactions and preparations), CHEMCATS (chemical suppliers), CHEMLIST (regulations on >350,000 chemicals), MARPAT (>1.1 million Markush structures from patents), MEDLINE (from NLM; index to biomedical literature since 1966).

Access to more than 30 ACS chemistry journals. Also includes current news and educational resources in the field of chemistry.

Collection of databases: Reaxys (Beilstein and Gmelin handbooks of >75 million chemical substances, plus literature index including patents), Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry (>40 million chemical substances and bioactivity datapoints, plus literature index), PubChem (from NLM; >91 million chemical substances), eMolecules (chemical suppliers), LabNetwork (chemical suppliers), Sigma-Aldrich (chemical supplier).

Access to more than 30 ACS chemistry journals. Also includes current news and educational resources in the field of chemistry.

PubMed is a free service from the National Library of Medicine containing citations and abstracts of articles, primarily in the fields of biomedicine and health. It includes the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Fully covers over 9,500 scholarly journals across 128 scientific disciplines. Specializes in cited reference searching for comprehensive identification of later works that have cited an article published in one of the covered journals. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection database. Coverage: 1900-present.