Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Military Science Databases
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides full text for nearly 300 journals and other periodicals and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles, including The World Factbook
Gale OneFile: Military And Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs. Updated annually, this resource contains hand-selected content supporting key subject areas such as, governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
This definitive collection contains more than 200 full-text periodicals covering conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Over 235,000 reports and primary sources related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Sources include Federal, state and local governments, international governments and institutions, nonprofit organizations and private sector entities, think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
"War and Diplomacy" Resources in Opposing Viewpoints Database
Within the "War and Diplomacy" section of the Opposing Viewpoints database (featured below), are over 50 subtopics pertaining to Military Science. These subtopics include, but are not limited to: defense spending, drones, military deployment, PTSD, and women in combat.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together pro and con viewpoint articles from the Greenhaven Press book series, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, hundreds of primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more. In addition, it has thousands of links to reviewed and subject-indexed websites and podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs. Access to this resource is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition.
America: History and Life (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Over 1,700 journals are indexed from as far back as 1910.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines with coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
HeritageQuest Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
HeritageQuest Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources including primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. This resource includes six core data sets: U.S. Federal Census records (1790-1940), Genealogy and local history books, Revolutionary War records, Periodical Source Index (PERSI) Archive (1800-2009), Freedman’s Bank Records, and U.S. Serial Set records.
Note: Authenticated by BadgerLink. If you are off-campus, you may need to enter your Wisconsin library card ID.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 2,300 history journals. Covers world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Note: This resource is limited to 6 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines. Coverage: varies. Collections include: Arts and Science I - XV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences V - XIV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition. Access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection is made possible by the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition.
Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of over 300 scholarly journals in the fields of: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: World History.
Gale In Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Content includes rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: U.S. History.