Products and Services
Article searching can be a good way to find information on products or services to help you determine whether or not such a venture serves a need in the marketplace. Other people may have already written about the type of product or service you are investigating, and the information you find can help you determine if your product or service would be successful.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowThis database includes full text for over 2,300 business journals, including over a thousand peer-reviewed titles. Non-journal full text includes: market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowNote: This resource has replaced Business Premium Collection. It contains all of the content previously found in Business Premium Collection and also incorporates business books from ProQuest Ebook Central.
Provides indexing and selected full text for thousands of business sources, including scholarly and trade journals, reports (e.g., company, country, industry, SWOT), working papers, dissertations, books, videos, and news sources such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and The Economist.
Industries
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowSearch by industry, company, or NAICS code to find the corresponding industry reports, or browse report listings by choosing either US Industry Reports (NAICS) or US Specialized Industry Reports.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowIn addition to articles, Business Premium Collection also contains First Research Industry reports. To access these reports, click on the browse tab at the top of the database, choose Industry and Market Research, then click on First Research. You can then browse through the A-Z list of industries to find reports for your chosen industry.
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowThis market research database contains statistics and analysis for consumer-related industries across the globe. Content includes detailed industry data, including brand share rankings; 205 country reports; and company profiles.
Note: This resource is only available to current UWL students, faculty, and staff. Data in this resource may be used for research and private study only.
IRS Corporate Financial Ratios by Call Number: HF5681.B2 I7 ReferenceMurphy Library holdings: 1989 - current ed.
Set of financial ratios commonly used in business planning, financial analysis, and credit evaluations. Based on income statement and balance sheet data compiled by the IRS. Newer volumes by NAICS; older volumes by SIC.
Can't find it here?
- Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)Request materials not found in Murphy Library.
- UW System Resource SharingLearn how to find and request materials from other UW libraries.
Companies
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowTo locate company information you have a couple options:
1. Select "Browse all Company Overviews" in the Company Overviews box on the homepage and then search for your company name. This will bring back the Hoover's company record for your chosen company as well as other pertinent resources such as news articles, featured reports and more.
2. Select "Company Reports" above the search box on the homepage and then search for your company. This will bring back many different types of company reports. - Business Source Premier (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowTo locate company profiles, click on the company profiles tab at the top of the screen, then search for your desired company to look at it's corresponding MarketLine Report.
- Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for a company name to find Company Reports, Market Share information, Market Research Reports, and more. - Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowData Axle Reference Solutions allows you to build your own search in order to find all types of companies within the U.S. from the biggest to the smallest. Choose U. S. Businesses from the database options, then click on Advanced Search when you can choose which facets you want to look for, including Geographical area, business size, business type, and others.
Public companies are required to file quarterly earning reports and other information with the Securities and Exchange Commission, and investment banks publish analyst reports on them on a regular basis.
Unlike public companies, private companies are not regulated by the federal government. Therefore, it is at the discretion of a private company if, and what, they want to disclose about themselves. It can be more difficult and time consuming to locate information about private companies.
Consumers/Target Market
- Simmons Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) This link opens in a new windowConsumer product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits and more, as derived from MRI-Simmons USA, a major ongoing survey of 50,000+ U.S. adults. Also includes data from Connect surveys focusing on consumers’ use of traditional and digital media, plus Local Flex Markets Study data for all 205 continental media markets. Quick Reports, Crosstab, and Geo Mapping modules are available. Access limited to classes in the College of Business Administration.
Note: This resource is limited to 50 simultaneous users.
MRI-Simmons Catalyst
- Simmons Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) This link opens in a new windowConsumer product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits and more, as derived from MRI-Simmons USA, a major ongoing survey of 50,000+ U.S. adults. Also includes data from Connect surveys focusing on consumers’ use of traditional and digital media, plus Local Flex Markets Study data for all 205 continental media markets. Quick Reports, Crosstab, and Geo Mapping modules are available. Access limited to classes in the College of Business Administration.
Note: This resource is limited to 50 simultaneous users.
More Information
UW-Madison has several useful tutorials on how to use Simmons Insights (predecessor to MRI-Simmons Catalyst):
- Simmons Insights Overview (2:16)
- Simmons Insights: Creating a Simple Crosstab (2:53)
- Reading Crosstab Results: