Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Peer-reviewed Professional and Scientific Sources
Before you decide on your reform idea, visit these search engines to find possible ideas or to test your own ideas. As a student, you are expected to read and rely on the most current analysis and interpretation of healthcare-related research. After identifying an idea in your text or in conversation with a professor, look for available sources in the search engines listed below. Use a librarian if you are unsure of your search methodology.
IF YOU CANNOT FIND SOURCES FOR AN IDEA, MODIFY OR SWITCH TO ANOTHER IDEA UNTIL YOU FIND AN IDEA DISCUSSED IN THE PROFESSIONAL AND SCIENTIFIC LITERATURE..
If you have not done this before, be thankful you are doing it now because this will open up your world and empower you as a learner and as a professional after graduation.
- Remember that searching is an art; play with different search terms/concepts for vastly different results.
- Think of synonyms and then connect them with “OR” (see Sample Searches)
- If you’ve searched once, alter your search terms and search again.
- Contact a librarian!
Discover if the library provides access to specific journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. whether in print or online.
Enter the title of a periodical (NOT the title of an article).
Browse electronic journals (Browzine)
Essential Article Database
MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine & EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
Essentially equivalent to PubMed
from the National Library of Medicine, but with full text for select journals. Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Over 4,800 current biomedical journals are indexed; full text for 1,470 journals. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Incorporates PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, AIDSLINE & more.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
With indexing and abstracts for 4,600 nursing journals and full-text articles for more than 770 journals. Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. Content includes books, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, and evidence-based care sheets.
Health Professions Databases via EBSCOhost
This cluster of EBSCOhost databases allows you to search 14 health professions databases at one time including MEDLINE, CINAHL, Health Source databases, PsycINFO, and more. Note:
Be aware that when searching multiple databases at one time, unique features of individual databases will likely lose their functionality. Please visit the Health Professions
page for links to other essential health/medicine resources.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 800+ journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Cochrane Collection Plus (EBSCO Host
Cochrane Collection Plus is a collection of six databases providing information and evidence to support decisions of health care professionals.
UpToDate is an evidence-based medicine tool used by health care professionals seeking treatment options and to provide patients with health care information. UpToDate editors and authors monitor more than 440 journals and incorporate recent literature into context of existing literature.
Related Sources-Not Necessarily Peer-reviewed for Health Information
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost
This database includes articles on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It includes full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO Host)
This database contains full text for over 400 journals, and cover-to-cover citations and abstracts for more than 800 journals. The database has a worldwide focus and features more than 180 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. PSC includes a subject-specific thesaurus with 10,453 terms.
Full-text articles on the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into two sides of the issues, bibliographies and more
Take Murphy Library with you as you search the internet! The LibX toolbar links you back to Murphy Library resources and librarians whenever and wherever you are online.
Searches the full text of select scholarly journal articles.
Access to the full text is controlled by the publisher. Access may open, access may be provided by your library, or access may be purchased.
! Tip: For best results, use Google Scholar with Murphy Library's LibX Toolbar!