Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse Microbiology Journals
Science (AAAS) Note
: As of November 2019, current content from Science
should be accessed through the Academic Search Ultimate
database. The complete archive—from 1880 to the present with a rolling 6-year embargo—also remains available through JSTOR
A weekly online publication that covers scientific training, career development, and the science job market.
The Prokaryotes (Springer) @ SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, multi-authored, peer reviewed reference work on Bacteria and Achaea. Organized to cover all taxonomic diversity, using the family level to delineate chapters. Includes not only taxonomy, but also prokaryotic biology and technology of taxa in a broad context. 4th ed., 11 volumes, 2013-2014.
Note: To search Prokaryotes, first select a volume and then type a keyword into the "Search within book" box.
Science Citation Index Expanded (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Web of Science Core Collection
. Fully covers all articles (more than 53 million) published in over 9,200 scholarly journals across 178 scientific disciplines, and covers the cited references found in each article (over 1.18 billion cited references). Offers cited reference searching to find all the articles that have cited a given article since it was published (footnotes in reverse). Coverage: 1900-present.
Biological Abstracts (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers over 4,300 scholarly journals in the life sciences, including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, the environment, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health and toxicology. Coverage: 1994-present.
MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine & EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Essentially equivalent to PubMed
from the National Library of Medicine, but with full text for select journals. Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Over 4,800 current biomedical journals are indexed; full text for 1,470 journals. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Incorporates PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, AIDSLINE & more.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from over 80 high impact journals in biological, ecological and environmental studies.
Please Note: UW System-wide access to the full BioOne.1 collection ended on December 31st, 2018. Murphy Library retains access to content published through the end of 2018 and has begun individual subscriptions to select titles in the collection.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with over 700 journals and magazines covering computing, technology and engineering disciplines.
Over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, plus technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database includes full text access to science reference books, encyclopedias, essays, and biographies of scientists as well as full text articles from science periodicals. Access alternative interface
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Includes 2,500 journals and 11,000 books published by Elsevier in the areas of health & life Sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral Sciences. Thanks to funding by academic initiatives, we now have the "complete" collection, which includes pre-1995 Journal Content with deep coverage available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 and practically all Elsevier online books, including Major Reference Works, Books Series, Handbooks, eBooks Front lists and Back lists back to 1995.
Preprint server for Biology, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CSHL). A database of articles that have not yet been subject to peer review and published in a scholarly journal.