Health Professions (SUBJECT GUIDE): Articles & Databases

Note: As of November 2019, current content from Science should be accessed through the Academic Search Ultimate database. The complete archive—from 1880 to the present with a rolling 6-year embargo—also remains available through JSTOR.
A weekly online publication that covers scientific training, career development, and the science job market.

An interactive 3D anatomy tool that includes a human anatomy atlas, comprehensive references for biological concepts and processes, animations, diagnostic images, and visual assets.

Note: Create an account by clicking "Sign Up" to use this resource. Access to the trial version is valid till March 31st, 2024.

Covers over 4,600 nursing and allied health journals, with full-text articles from more than 350 active, non-open access journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. Also covers health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. Contains continuing education modules, research instruments records, evidence-based care sheets, and quick lessons as well.

A point-of-care resource for health care professionals designed to provide clinicians with answers quickly. Includes a wide range of content types to satisfy clinical information needs: books (1,000+), journals (500+), videos (13,000+), practice guidelines (2,000+), images, patient education handouts, and drug monographs. Images can be exported directly to PowerPoint slides.
Note: User must register and login to download PDFs

The Cochrane Library is a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases that brings together relevant research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions. It can be used to inform healthcare decision-making for hundreds of medical conditions, plus related topics such as injury prevention. The Cochrane Library is recognized worldwide as a source of high-quality, independent evidence for healthcare interventions.

Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management.

Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.

This cluster of EBSCOhost databases allows you to search 14 health professions databases at one time including MEDLINE, CINAHL, Health Source databases, PsycINFO, and more. Note: Be aware that when searching multiple databases at one time, unique features of individual databases will likely lose their functionality. Please visit the Health Professions page for links to other essential health/medicine resources.

Essentially equivalent to PubMed from the National Library of Medicine, but with full text for select journals. Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Over 4,800 current biomedical journals are indexed; full text for 1,470 journals. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Incorporates PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, AIDSLINE & more.

Includes about 50 active journals and magazines focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.

Covers 2,400 journals as well as book chapters and dissertations in psychology and from related behavioral and social sciences including: artificial intelligence, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, political science, social work, sociology, sports

Full-text database with over 700 journals and magazines covering computing, technology and engineering disciplines.

Health and wellness information from: 480+ journals and magazines, 2,600+ evidence-based reports (Great Neck Health), nearly 500 images and diagrams (Nucleus Medical), 470+ encyclopedias and other reference sources, 240+ animations (Blausen Medical), government pamphlets (CDC, FDA, NIH and more), ASHP Patient Medication Information, Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary

For both consumer health researchers and health care professionals, with more than 2,500 periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.

Nearly 30 active magazines, 100 reference books, more than 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports, and current health pamphlets. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.

Journals@Ovid is a single database that contains the Ovid Full Text and graphics of every full text journal offered by Ovid. Use the Find It! link to request articles from journals to which we do not subscribe. Or, limit your search to Your Journals@Ovid, a subset of the full database that contains only Murphy Library's current OVID subscriptions.

Collection of graduate research studies (theses and dissertations) on movement and physical activity. Topics include physical activity, physical fitness, activities of daily living, work, sport and athletics, recreation, dance, and play. Study participants include children, adults; elderly, individuals with disabilities, injury or disease; and athletes. Citations and abstracts are included with links to full text PDFs. Coverage: At least 1996 to present. Updated annually.

Consists of three sub-databases: PCSubstance contains over 850,000 chemical structures, descriptions, and more.  PCCompound contains over 650,000 validated chemical depictions.  PCBioAssay contains more than 170 bioactivity screens of chemical substances.

Fully covers over 9,500 scholarly journals across 128 scientific disciplines. Specializes in cited reference searching for comprehensive identification of later works that have cited an article published in one of the covered journals. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection database. Coverage: 1900-present.

Includes 2,500 journals and 11,000 books published by Elsevier in the areas of health & life Sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral Sciences. Thanks to funding by academic initiatives, we now have the "complete" collection, which includes pre-1995 Journal Content with deep coverage available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 and practically all Elsevier online books, including Major Reference Works, Books Series, Handbooks, eBooks Front lists and Back lists back to 1995.

This database includes full text access to science reference books, encyclopedias, essays, and biographies of scientists as well as full text articles from science periodicals. Access alternative interface

Provides citations and abstracts to periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers. Includes full text for 530 journals. Topics covered include sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, and physical education.
Note: This resource is limited to 4 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later.