Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse current issues of e-journals in health education/health promotion available through Murphy Library.
Preprint server for Biomedicine, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CSHL). A database of articles that have not yet been subject to peer review and published in a scholarly journal.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers over 4,600 nursing and allied health journals, with full-text articles from more than 350 active, non-open access journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. Also covers health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. Contains continuing education modules, research instruments records, evidence-based care sheets, and quick lessons as well.
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database includes articles on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It includes full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Includes full text for 200 health reference books as well as evidence-based health results, drug patient education sheets, medical images and diagrams, over 800 physician-generated videos on general, women's, and men's health; healthy aging; consumer health pamphlets; full text from over 500 consumer health periodicals; and over 240 animations.
ERIC (Institute of Education Sciences) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
From the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education. Full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive consumer health resource provides access to authoritative information on hundreds of health-related topics. Content includes full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Nearly 30 active magazines, 100 reference books, more than 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports, and current health pamphlets. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Includes 140 active journals, 120 peer-reviewed active journals, and 930 indexed and abstracted journals covering nursing and allied health topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine & EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Essentially equivalent to PubMed
from the National Library of Medicine, but with full text for select journals. Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Over 4,800 current biomedical journals are indexed; full text for 1,470 journals. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Incorporates PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, AIDSLINE & more.
APA PsycINFO (American Psychological Association) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains more than three million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology or in the psychological aspects of many related disciplines. Nearly 2,500 journals are covered.
AHFS Consumer Medication Information (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.
ClinicalKey (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care resource for health care professionals designed to provide clinicians with answers quickly. Includes a wide range of content types to satisfy clinical information needs: books (1,000+), journals (500+), videos (13,000+), practice guidelines (2,000+), images, patient education handouts, and drug monographs. Images can be exported directly to PowerPoint slides.
Note: User must register and login to download PDFs
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases that brings together relevant research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions. It can be used to inform healthcare decision-making for hundreds of medical conditions, plus related topics such as injury prevention. The Cochrane Library is recognized worldwide as a source of high-quality, independent evidence for healthcare interventions.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts for over 2,100 journals with full text for 1,200 as well as full text for over 500 books and education conference papers. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
With contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, this collection includes millions of full-text articles from national and global publications as well as more than 200 experiments, projects, and top reference content.
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window
Includes more than five million articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content from Delmar such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
For both consumer health researchers and health care professionals, with more than 2,500 periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Grey Literature Report
The report is a publication produced by the The New York Academy of Medicine between 1999 - 2016, alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected urban health topics. As of January 2017, the Grey Literature Report website and database is discontinued and no longer updated, but the resources remains accessible.
Journals@OVID (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window
Journals@Ovid is a single database that contains the Ovid Full Text and graphics of every full text journal offered by Ovid. Use the Find It! link to request articles from journals to which we do not subscribe. Or, limit your search to Your Journals@Ovid, a subset of the full database that contains only Murphy Library's current OVID subscriptions.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database includes full text access to science reference books, encyclopedias, essays, and biographies of scientists as well as full text articles from science periodicals. Access alternative interface
These databases may also include related articles.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database containing full-text academic journals, magazines and periodicals plus reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline. Includes thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database indexes and provides selected full text for thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources across many academic disciplines. Subjects covered include the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and literature.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database offers an extensive collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. Also includes reference, newspaper, and audio content.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into two sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Gale In Context: College This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, topically-arranged content that covers the humanities and social sciences, literature, science, U.S. history, and world history. Includes full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Also includes hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines. Coverage: varies. Collections include: Arts and Science I - XV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences V - XIV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition. Access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection is made possible by the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Please note: Access to this resource ended on June 30, 2021. UW System began a new subscription to Westlaw this summer.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. Content includes local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; federal and state cases and statutes; and business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Legal, news, and business sources. Contains US state and federal cases, statutes, and regulations, along with secondary legal sources such as law reviews. Also includes US and international news, Hoover's Company Records, SEC filings, and Westlaw’s Company Investigator system.