UWL Books & Media
Library Call Number Locations
Books can be located in the Library Catalog under the following subjects or can be found by going to shelves and looking under the call numbers:
- Anatomy, Human QM1-695
- Dancing GV1580-1790
- People with Disabilities HV1551-3024
- Exercise & Physical Fitness RA781
- Games & Amusements GV1199-1570
- Motor Learning/Sense & Sensation BF231-299
- Movements QP303-336
- Nutrition and Diet of special classes & groups TX361
- Physical Education and Training GV201-555
- Physiology QP1-77
- Recreation GV1-199
- Sports GV557-1198
- Sports Medicine RC1200-1245
WorldCat
Guides to the Literature
Performance Tests/Measures
A Comprehensive Guide to Sports Skills Tests and Measurement by Call Number: GV436 .C58 2001 ReferenceISBN: 0810838842Second edition.
Nearly 100 skills tests.
Kirby's Guide to Fitness and Motor Performance Tests by Call Number: GV436.5 .K55 1991ISBN: 0962909831Guide to 193 tests.
Two copies, one in Reference and one in 2nd Floor Stacks- A Reference Manual for Human Performance Measurement in the Field of Physical Education and Sports Sciences by Call Number: GV436.5 .R44 1996 ReferenceISBN: 0773487883Guide to 30 tests
Encyclopaedia of Sports Medicine
- Encyclopaedia of Sports Medicine series byCall Number: (varies); many volumes also available ONLINEPublication Date: 1988-"The IOC Medical Commission has been publishing the Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine in collaboration with Blackwell Publishing, Ltd. (Oxford, England) since 1988. Each volume of the Encyclopedia includes up-to-date and state-of-the-art information on a particular medical/scientific area of sports medicine and sports science. A large team of internationally recognized experts contribute the 40-50 chapters that make up each volume. The Encyclopedia is intended for the use of sports medicine doctors, exercise and sport scientists, physiotherapists and athletic trainers, and graduate students in the sports sciences and allied health professions."
Featured Reference Books
Some of these are e-books accessed online, the rest are found in the library's reference area on the first floor.
Physical Education Handbook by Call Number: GV361 .P49 1992 ReferenceISBN: 013666900xEighth edition.
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook by Call Number: GV436 .F53 2011 ReferenceISBN: 9780780811423Publication Date: 2010Fourth edition.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport by Call Number: GV567 .B48 2005 ReferenceISBN: 0974309117v.1-4
Sport and Physical Education: the Key Concepts by Call Number: GV567 .C43 2007 ReferenceISBN: 9780415417471Second edition.
Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies by Call Number: GV567 .E53 2006 ReferenceISBN: 9780415277136v.1-3
The Encyclopedia of North American Sports History by Call Number: GV567 .H518 2002 ReferenceISBN: 0816050716Second edition.
The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies by Call Number: GV567 .M35 2008 ReferenceISBN: 9781412907354also ONLINE- Sports in North America: A Documentary History by Call Number: GV581 .S655 1997 ReferencePublication Date: 1997-2004v.1-10 (v.9 never published)
African Americans in Sports by Call Number: GV583 .A567 2004 ReferenceISBN: 0765680556v.1-2
also ONLINE
Native Americans in Sports by Call Number: GV583 .N34 2004 ReferenceISBN: 0765680548v.1-2
also ONLINE
Sports in America from Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century: an Encyclopedia by Call Number: GV583 .S68588 2011 ReferenceISBN: 9780765617064also ONLINE
Sport in American Culture: From Ali to X-GamesCall Number: GV706.2 .D86 2004 ReferenceISBN: 1576070247
Dictionary of Sport Psychology by Call Number: GV706.4 .D537 2019 ReferenceISBN: 9780128131503also ONLINE
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology by Call Number: GV706.4 .E5 2014 ReferenceISBN: 9781452203836v.1-2
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology by Call Number: GV706.4 .O94 2019 ReferenceISBN: 9780190634575v.1-2
Encyclopedia of Women and Sport in America by Call Number: GV709 .E53 1998 ReferenceISBN: 0897749936
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports by Call Number: GV709 .I58 2001 ReferenceISBN: 0028649540v.1-3
Encyclopedia of Ethnicity and Sports in the United States by Call Number: GV709.5 .E83 2000 ReferenceISBN: 0313299110
Encyclopedia of Title IX and Sports by Call Number: GV709.18.U6 M58 2007 ReferenceISBN: 9780313335877
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by Call Number: GV716 .E53 2011eb ONLINEISBN: 9781412994156Publication Date: 2011
Careers in Sports & Fitness by Call Number: GV734.3 .C37 2017 ReferenceISBN: 9781682173220[First edition].
International Encyclopedia of Dance by Call Number: GV1585 .I586 1998 ReferenceISBN: 019509462Xv.1-6
Complete Resource Guide for People with Disabilities 2023 by Call Number: HV1553 .C58 Referencecurrent ed.
The Complete OSEP Handbook by Call Number: KF4209.3 .P582 2007 ReferenceISBN: 9781578340859current ed.
Atlas of Human Anatomy by Call Number: QM25 .N46 2018 ReferenceISBN: 9780323393225Seventh edition.
also ONLINE
Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise by Call Number: QM100 .M55 2019 ReferenceISBN: 9780367150563Second edition.
Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training by Call Number: RC1206 .B475 2005 ReferenceISBN: 1556426666Second edition.
Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine by Call Number: RC1206 .O94 2006 ReferenceISBN: 0199210896Third edition.
Principles of Sports Medicine & Exercise Science by Call Number: RC1210 .P75 2022 ReferenceISBN: 9781637003794
The 5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult by Call Number: RC1211 .A145 2020 ReferenceISBN: 97814963969383rd edition.
also ONLINE
The Complete Guide to Sports Injuries by Call Number: RD97 .G75 2004 ReferenceISBN: 97803995295423rd ed., Perigree ed. / rev. and updated by David A. Friscia.
Sports Injuries Sourcebook by Call Number: RD97 .S736 2017 ReferenceISBN: 9780780815285Publication Date: 2017Fifth edition.
Nutritional Supplements in Sport, Exercise and Health by Call Number: RM301 .N88 2015 ReferenceISBN: 9781138777644also ONLINE
