Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search@UW (with scope selector)
Search for books, articles & more.
Reference librarians are available during open reference desk hours to help with any information questions or needs.
Contact librarians using:
Chat: Chat with Librarian (opens a chat dialog box)
Email: Use our Ask-a-Librarian form
Visit: Stop by the reference desk on the library's first floor for in-person help.
Newspaper Search: Historical/Archives
This resource includes text from historical periodicals and books including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements and genealogical records. Collections include but are not limited to African American Newspapers, The Civil War Collection, The Pennsylvania Gazette, South Carolina Newspapers, Godey`s Lady`s Book 1830-1898, the Lily, and The Virginia Gazette.
African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives)
This collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 (Readex)
Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Coverage: 1827-1998.
America's Historical Newspapers (Readex)
Search more than 1,400 U.S. historical newspapers from all 50 states published between 1728 and 1999. Search across 7 collections, including African American Newspapers and Early American Newspapers, Series 2 - 7.
British Library Newspapers (Gale)
Taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library, this collection includes London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism. Coverage: 1800-1900.
The Civil War Collection (Accessible Archives)
This collection of newspapers, personal narratives, and regimental histories is divided into seven parts: A Newspaper Perspective; The Soldiers’ Perspective; The Generals’ Perspective; A Midwestern Perspective; Iowa’s Perspective; Northeast Regimental Histories; and Abraham Lincoln Library Abolitionist Books.
Frank Leslie's Weekly (Accessible Archives)
Founded in 1855 and continued until 1922, this was an American illustrated literary and news publication, and one of several started by publisher and illustrator Frank Leslie.
: NewsVault was retired on November 20, 2020. To cross-search newspapers on the Gale platform, please use Gale Primary Sources
Cross-search and browse all newspapers available in the Times Digital Archive, Sunday Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
Godey's Lady's Book (Accessible Archives)
This collection provides the complete run of Godey’s Lady’s Book. The magazine was intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America. It contained extensive fashion descriptions and plates, biographical sketches, articles, and sheet music, and gradually evolved into an important literary magazine containing extensive book reviews and works by many celebrated 19th century authors.
Newspapers.com World Collection (Ancestry & ProQuest)
This newspaper archive contains searchable, full-page images of over 4000 state, regional, and local newspapers in the United States and other countries from the early 1700s to the 2000s.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Over 28 million articles of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and the Antebellum-era. Newspapers from all 19th-century U.S. states and territories are included.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index
Online, full-image, and searchable content of The New York Times from September 18, 1851 to the present with a 4-year embargo. Includes articles, advertisements, and political cartoons. Search options include keyword, article type, by date, author, or browse by issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
Online, full-image, and searchable content of The Wall Street Journal from July 8, 1889 to the present with an 18-year embargo. In 1889, Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal as a markets-focused newspaper for shareholders. Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, and consumer affairs
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection (Gale)
Provides full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books (primarily published in London, with some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and examples from the American colonies) gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
The Sunday Times (London) Historical Archive (Gale)
The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large since 1822. Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news. Coverage: 1822-2016.
The Times (London) Digital Archive (Gale)
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Coverage: 1785-2012.
The Times Literary Supplement (London) Historical Archive (Gale)
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world’s most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s. Coverage: 1902-2019.
The Virginia Gazette (Accessible Archives)
Published weekly in Williamsburg, Virginia between 1736 and 1780, The Virginia Gazette contained news covering all of Virginia and also included information from other colonies, Scotland, England and additional countries.
Wisconsin Newspaper Archive
A digital collection of Wisconsin newspapers with coverage going back to 1813.
Women's Suffrage Collection (Accessible Archives)
This collection covers much of the women's rights movement from the mid-1800s to the early 1900s. It includes newspapers that had some overlap between the temperance and women’s rights movements, as well as an anti-suffrage paper.