The Ready Reference collection at Murphy Library is a small, targeted collection of some of the most important and widely-used reference tools and resources for looking up basic facts, statistics, and other information. Some items listed here are online, while others are located on the Ready Reference Shelf on the first floor. For help finding and using these resources and many more like them, Ask a librarian!
- Reference Universe (Paratext) This link opens in a new windowA single, centralized access point to much of Murphy Library's reference collection (online and print subject encyclopedias, handbooks, compendia), allowing you to deeply search within the collection through tables of contents and actual back of the book indexes. Link directly into the work if available online. Covers 5,400 titles held by Murphy Library, and about 45,000 reference works total. Tutorial video
Encyclopedias
The World Book Encyclopedia by Call Number: AE5 .W55 2020 Ready ReferenceISBN: 97807166012032020 edition.
v.1-22
Dictionaries
Random House Webster's Unabridged Dictionary and CD-ROM Version 3.0 by Call Number: PE1625 .R36 1998 Ready ReferenceISBN: 0375403833Publication Date: 1999
Webster's Third New International Dictionary by Call Number: PE 1625.W36 1993 Ready ReferenceISBN: 0877792011Publication Date: 2002
New Oxford American Dictionary by Call Number: PE1628 .N429 2005 ReferenceISBN: 0195170776Publication Date: 2005
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language by Call Number: PE 1628.A623 2011 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780547041018Publication Date: 2011
- Merriam-Webster DictionaryIncludes thesaurus.
Thesauri
Descriptionary : [a thematic dictionary] by Call Number: PE1591 .M415 2010 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780816079476Fourth edition.
Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus by Call Number: PE1591 .L625 2012 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780199829927Third edition.
The American Heritage Roget's Thesaurus by Call Number: PE1591 .A536 2013 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780547964065
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus by Call Number: PE1591 .W38 2010 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780877792697Second edition.
Roget's International Thesaurus by Call Number: PE1591 .R73 2019 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780062843722Eighth edition.
Quotations
- Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, 10th ed., 1919Over 11,000 passages, phrases, and proverbs traced to their sources in ancient and modern literature, by John Bartlett., rev. and enl. by Nathan Haskell Dole.
Local News
Maps & Atlases
Goode's World Atlas by Call Number: G1021 .G6 2000 Ready ReferenceISBN: 0528640003Publication Date: 2000
Road Atlas by Call Number: G1105 .R23 Ready Referencecurrent ed. in Ready Reference;
previous ed. in Oversize Collection (2nd floor)
Wisconsin Atlas and Gazetteer by Call Number: G 1415.D4 2011 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780899333311Publication Date: 201112th ed.
U.S. Government and state government
Murphy Library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Materials include books, periodicals, maps, CDs/DVDs and other formats, and also include reproductions on microfiche or microfilm. U.S. government documents are located in open stacks in the basement, shelved in call number order using the Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) Classification Scheme. They are listed in the Library Catalog, and they may be checked out. Also available in Reference.
The United States Government Internet Directory by Call Number: ZA5075 .G68 Ready Referencecurrent ed.
Wisconsin Blue Book by Call Number: JK6031 Ready Reference (current ed.)1871- at Government Documents Wisconsin (basement) A.1:
1863- (most issues) also at Special Collections Rare Books JK6031
also ONLINE
- United States Government Manual
This link opens in a new window
Handbook provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees. Coverage: 1935-current ed. - Wisconsin Blue Book
This link opens in a new window
Official information and data covering distinguishing characteristics of the state of Wisconsin and its residents. Coverage: 1995/96-
Business
Business Rankings Annual by
Call Number: HG4040 ONLINE2010-2020 ONLINE
1996-2010 HG4050 .B88 Reference Compact Storage.
Lists of companies, products, services, and activities compiled from a variety of published sources.Market Share Reporter by
Call Number: HF5415.2 ONLINE2010- ONLINE
1991-2010 at HF5415.2 .M35 Reference Compact Storage.
Market share data on companies, products, facilities, and brands.
North American Industry Classification System by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PREX 2.6/4: Government Documents Federal (Basement)1997- ONLINE;
1997-2012 also at PREX 2.6/4: Govt Documents Federal (basement)
Strauss's handbook of business information : a guide for librarians, students, and researchers by Call Number: Z7164.C81 S7796 2020 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9781440851308Fourth edition.
Statistics and Facts
The World Almanac and Book of Facts by Call Number: AY67.N5 W7 Ready ReferenceCurrent ed. at Ready Reference;
1929- at Reference Compact Storage
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States by Call Number: HA202 Ready Reference2013- at Oversize Collection (2nd floor)
- Data Planet (Sage) This link opens in a new windowThe Data-Planet repository contains datasets from public, commercial, and nongovernmental organizations in the United States and around the world. Subjects covered include business, political science, demography, agriculture, education, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy, and more.
New York Public Library Desk Reference by Call Number: AG6 .N49 2002 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780786868469
- A & E BiographyDaily features and 7,000+ biographies of famous people. A & E Television Networks, LLC
- AnyWhoPhone numbers for white and yellow pages, reverse lookup of phone numbers, and area/zip code lookup.The personal identifying information available on AnyWho is provided solely by Intelius, Inc. and is derived from Public Records, Publicly Available Information and Commercial Records.
- Zip Code SearchFrom USPS.com. Zip codes may be looked up by address, companies, or cities.
- Kelley Blue BookVehicle values, owned by Cox Enterprises, a privately held media conglomerate based in Atlanta, Georgia, Serving customers such as auto dealers, manufacturers and financial institutions.
Medicine and Science
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by Call Number: QD65 .H3 Ready Referencecurrent ed. in Ready Reference;
earlier edition at Oversize Collection (2nd floor) QD65 .H3
- PDR: Prescribers' Digital ReferenceDrug information from ConnectiveRx
Computers and Operating Systems
SPSS survival manual : a step by step guide to data analysis using IBM SPSS by Call Number: HA32 .P35 2020 Ready ReferenceISBN: 97817608755347th edition.
Microsoft® Excel® 2016 bible by Call Number: HF5548.4.M523 W34579 2015 Ready Reference
Microsoft Office 2016 Step by Step by Call Number: HF5548.4.M525 L36 2015 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780735699236Publication Date: 2015
Windows 10 May 2019 Update by Call Number: QA76.774 .M435 P643 2019 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9781492057291First edition
MacOS Catalina: the Missing Manual by Call Number: QA76.774.M33 P625 2019 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9781492075066First edition.
Research Assistance
Librarians can help you learn to make the most of the information resources, tools, and services of Murphy Library and beyond!
Weekdays & Sunday afternoons (fall/spring):
Any time (year-round):
- Email us -- we'll email you back asap
- Schedule an appointment (in-person or online)
Local history and/or archives research? Special Collections / Area Research Center specialists are available!
- Email us at specoll@uwlax.edu
- Call us at 608.785.8511
Where to find what
Where to Find What by Call Number: Z1035.1 .H54 2000 Ready ReferenceISBN: 0810834022Publication Date: 2000-02-09
Library classification systems
Abridged Dewey Decimal Classification and Relative Index by Call Number: Z696 .D54 2012 Ready ReferenceISBN: 0910608814Ed. 15
LC Classification Outline by Call Number: Z696 .U42 2003 Ready ReferenceISBN: 0844411000Publication Date: 2003
Indexes in Ready Reference
Book Review Index by Call Number: Ready ReferenceMurphy Library holds: 1965-2012
(these are print volumes)
The most comprehensive index to book reviews available, with more than 5 million review citations listed.
Tip: Check the volumes for the approximate year that the book was published
Magill index to literature : cumulative indexes, 1984-2001Call Number: PN523 .M2518 2001 Ready ReferenceISBN: 1587650932
Scribner Writers Series Master Index by Call Number: PN451 .S35 1998 Ready ReferenceISBN: 068480557X
Magill Books Index by Call Number: PN44 .M33 1980 Ready ReferenceISBN: 0893562009Publication Date: 1980
Grammar Guide
The Hodges Harbrace Handbook by Call Number: PE1112 .H6 2017 Ready ReferenceISBN: 978130567644219th edition
