Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pulitzer Prize Winners: Home

Lists of all the Pulitzer Prize winners

What is it?

The Pulitzer Prize is a U.S. award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature, and musical composition.

"honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917"

It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of American (Hungarian-born) publisher Joseph Pulitzer, and is administered by Columbia University in New York City. Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. In twenty of these, each winner receives a certificate and a $10,000 cash award. The winner in the public service category of the journalism competition is awarded a gold medal.

Pulitzer Prizes - The correct pronunciation is "PULL it  sir."

Here are this year's winners in all categories.

For more information about past winners in all categories.

To become an entrant, you may apply online.

Joseph Pulitzer

For a biography of Joseph Pulitzer, visit the Pulitzer Prizes website.

The Gold Medal for Public Service