Industry Ratios
NAICS industry reports in IBISWorld include industry financial ratios providing a current time series, incorporating data back to 2006, of 72 values (statement items and ratios) that are segmented by asset size classes and updated annually. Baseline inputs: IRS Statistics of Income and US Census Quarterly Financial Report. Industry inputs: IBISWorld Industry Database.
IRS Corporate Financial Ratios by Call Number: HF5681.B2 I7 ReferenceMurphy Library holdings: 1989 - current ed.
Set of financial ratios commonly used in business planning, financial analysis, and credit evaluations. Based on income statement and balance sheet data compiled by the IRS. Newer volumes by NAICS; older volumes by SIC.
ADDITIONAL SOURCES FOR HISTORICAL RATIOS:
RMA Annual Statement Studies by
Call Number: HF5681.B2 R6 Reference Compact StorageMurphy Library holdings: 1977-2011
Composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Newer volumes by NAICS; older volumes by SIC.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios by Call Number: HF5681.R25 A44 Reference Compact StorageMurphy library holdings: 1976-2012
Statistics obtained from corporate Federal income tax returns. Newer volumes by NAICS; older volumes by SIC.Industry norms and key business ratios by
Call Number: HF5681.R25 I525 Reference Compact StorageMurphy Library holdings: 1979-2011
Industry norms and key business ratios calculated from data obtained from financial statements. All volumes arranged by SIC.
Websites and Databases
- data.census.gov (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Official data from U.S. Census Bureau surveys, including the American Community Survey, the Decennial Census, the Economic Census, Economic Surveys, Population Estimates, Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes, Community Resilience Estimates, and Public Sector surveys. - Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowAnnual statistics for hundreds of consumer and service markets, from about the mid-1990’s forward
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowCollection of three databases containing business, consumer, and job listings. The U.S. Businesses Database includes profiles for millions of businesses in the United States, and has an advanced search tool that includes fields such as company name, SIC/NAICS code, and business size. The U.S. Consumers / Lifestyles Database can be used to research a community before opening a business or to target a marketing campaign to a particular population. The U.S. Jobs / Internships Database allows for searching by job title, location, salary estimate, and more.
Books/E-books
Business Rankings Annual by
Call Number: HG4040 ONLINE2010-2020 ONLINE
1996-2010 HG4050 .B88 Reference Compact Storage.
Lists of companies, products, services, and activities compiled from a variety of published sources.Market Share Reporter by
Call Number: HF5415.2 ONLINE2010- ONLINE
1991-2010 at HF5415.2 .M35 Reference Compact Storage.
Market share data on companies, products, facilities, and brands.