Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Examples of Chicago Manual of Style Citations
The Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide on the Chicago Manual of Style website provides excellent examples of common citation entries in both the notes and bibliography and author/date formats. Click on the link to access the Quick Guide.
Chicago style citation follows two separate formats: 1. notes and bibliography and 2. author-date. Be sure to ask your professor which format s/he prefers.
- In the notes and bibliography format, sources are cited in the text by including a superscript number¹ next to the quotation, paraphrase, or source reference. The full citation is then listed in a note, either as a footnote (at the bottom of the page) or as an endnote (at the end of the chapter or article). A bibliography, or separate list of sources, is often, but not always, included. Ask your professor about his/her preferences regarding footnotes, endnotes, and the bibliography. For more information, see also Chapter 14 in The Chicago Manual of Style.
- In the author-date format, sources are cited in the text by including the author's last name and the year of publication in parentheses directly following the quotation, paraphrase, or other source reference. Page numbers are included for quotations and some paraphrased materials. Example: (Jones 2003) or (Jones 2003, 45). A References list with full citations is required at the end of the document. For more information, see also Chapter 15 in The Chicago Manual of Style.
Citing Digital Content in Chicago (16th, 2010)
Taken from Lafayette College's Archives and Special Collections website. You can access it directly here.
Newspaper Article: Kelley, Michael. “Damaged Futures. Research Finds Student Athletes are at Greater Risk for Long-Term Health.” The Lafayette. May 9, 2014, http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/newspaper/20140509
Magazine Article: Shaw, Diane Windham. “Lafayette and Slavery.” Lafayette Alumni News. Winter 2007, http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/magazine/lafalummag-20070100
Photograph: “Students disrupt an ROTC parade on Fisher Field, May 4, 1969.” Lafayette College Historical Photograph Collection, http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/historicalphotos/hpc-0269
For History Students
Chicago/Turabian Citation Style Guide (UWL History Department)
Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007.
which is itself based on:
Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, 2003.
The most recent editions of Turabian (9th, 2018) and the Chicago Manual of Style (17th, 2017) are available at Murphy Library in the Ready Reference collection. The latest version of the Chicago Manual of Style is also available online.
Please check with your instructor before you choose a manual to consult.