Companies
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowTo locate company information you have a couple options:
1. Select "Browse all Company Overviews" in the Company Overviews box on the homepage and then search for your company name. This will bring back the Hoover's company record for your chosen company as well as other pertinent resources such as news articles, featured reports and more.
2. Select "Company Reports" above the search box on the homepage and then search for your company. This will bring back many different types of company reports. - Business Source Premier (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowTo locate company profiles, click on the company profiles tab at the top of the screen, then search for your desired company to look at it's corresponding MarketLine Report.
- Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for a company name to find Company Reports, Market Share information, Market Research Reports, and more. - Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowData Axle Reference Solutions allows you to build your own search in order to find all types of companies within the U.S. from the biggest to the smallest. Choose U. S. Businesses from the database options, then click on Advanced Search when you can choose which facets you want to look for, including Geographical area, business size, business type, and others.
Public companies are required to file quarterly earning reports and other information with the Securities and Exchange Commission, and investment banks publish analyst reports on them on a regular basis.
Unlike public companies, private companies are not regulated by the federal government. Therefore, it is at the discretion of a private company if, and what, they want to disclose about themselves. It can be more difficult and time consuming to locate information about private companies.
Can't find it here?
- Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)Request materials not found in Murphy Library.
- UW System Resource SharingLearn how to find and request materials from other UW libraries.
Industries
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIn IBISWorld, you can look for industry reports for larger industries that are organized by NAICS code or for specialized industry reports for smaller or up and coming industries. There are several ways to search in the database:
1. Search by industry, keyword, company, or code using the main search box.
2. Browse United States Industries by Sector by clicking on the Industries tab at the top of the page.
OR
3. Choose either Industry Reports or Specialized Industry Reports from the Products tab at the top of the page, then browse through the reports. - Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To find industry information, Market Share Reports, Industry Essays, or Plunkett Reports, navigate to the Industries tab. You can also compare industries by going to the Comparison Charts tab and choosing Industries from the drop down. - ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowYou can also use ProQuest One Business to find industry reports. To do this, click on Industry Reports located in the lefthand column.
Products
Murphy Library does not have a "product sales information" database, so you need to look through the resources that we do have for sales information.
For many specific, branded products (Post-It Notes, Scotch Magic Tape, Nexcare Bandages, etc.) you will not be able to easily find sales data. However, creative searching using the following techniques and those demonstrated in the videos in the box below will help you find anything that does exist.
Try these techniques in the recommended databases below - if the data is there, you'll probably find it. These are just a few suggested techniques that can be applied to any of the suggested databases. You may have to try other options as well, so be prepared to do some creative searching.
- Start with just your product name alone (Scotch Tape). See how many results you get. If not enough, try variations on your product name (Scotch Magic Tape, Scotch adhesive tape).
- If you're not finding anything, search for the category, not the brand (transparent tape, clear tape, adhesive tape, etc.)
- If you're finding too much or unrelated things, add your company name (3M tape, 3M Scotch, etc.)
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowYou can search for product information within the entirety of ProQuest One Business or try using the ABI/Inform Collection located within he database.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window This database includes full text for over 2,300 business journals, including over a thousand peer-reviewed titles. Non-journal full text includes: market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new windowMarket Share Reporter is available within the Gale Directory Library. Choose Market Share Reporter from the list of directories available on the main page of this database. Also, under More Options, make sure to uncheck the button where it says Search current edition(s) only - you will want to make sure you are searching all editions in order to get back the most resources.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Industry market research reports for over 1,300 United States industries, each updated 1 to 4 times per year. NAICS and specialized (new/emerging) industry reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. NAICS industry reports additionally include Industry Financial Ratios.
Consumers
MRI-Simmons Catalyst is the main database to use when searching for consumer demographics information for this class.
Catalyst is one of the more advanced marketing database available at Murphy Library. For more in depth information on how to use this database, see the tutorials and user guides in the box below.
MRI-Simmons Catalyst
- Simmons Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) This link opens in a new windowConsumer product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits and more, as derived from MRI-Simmons USA, a major ongoing survey of 50,000+ U.S. adults. Also includes data from Connect surveys focusing on consumers’ use of traditional and digital media, plus Local Flex Markets Study data for all 205 continental media markets. Quick Reports, Crosstab, and Geo Mapping modules are available. Access limited to classes in the College of Business Administration.
Note: This resource is limited to 50 simultaneous users.
More Information
UW-Madison has several useful tutorials on how to use Simmons Insights (predecessor to MRI-Simmons Catalyst):
- Simmons Insights Overview (2:16)
- Simmons Insights: Creating a Simple Crosstab (2:53)
- Reading Crosstab Results: