Theatre: Scene Design: Online Resources

Artstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, along with a set of tools to view, present, and manage the images for research and teaching purposes. Entire collections of images have been contributed by museums, libraries' special collections, scholars, individual photographers and photo archives.
Please note: Users must register an account with Artstor in order to download images.

Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images. Coverage: 1850-present.

This database contains contextual biographical entries on contemporary and historical figures. It offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles. Users can search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together pro and con viewpoint articles from the Greenhaven Press book series, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, hundreds of primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more. In addition, it has thousands of links to reviewed and subject-indexed websites and podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs. Access to this resource is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition.

Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Notable titles include: Leader-Telegram (Eau Claire), Post-Bulletin (Rochester), Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Times (London). It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

OAIster is a union catalog of digital resources which means you can search for primary sources such as images, advertisements, movies, audio files, and manuscripts from multiple sources (e.g. Library of Congress American Memory project).

Vogue provides a record of American and international popular culture; it is a unique primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history. Marketing students can research the history of a brand identity by viewing every advertisement for a brand such as Revlon, Coty, Versace or Chanel between specified dates. Researchers in cultural studies and gender studies can explore themes such as body image, gender roles and social tastes from the 1890s to the present. The latest issue will be added each month with no embargo period. Users can search through all text, captions, and titles throughout the magazine, including advertisements, covers and fold-outs.

Includes books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s reform activities. Resources added in 2008 include more than 72,000 pages from State Commissions on the Status of Women, as well as the first three volumes of Harvard University Press' Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary.