MeSH
- MeSH BasicsThis brief tutorial is designed to help you understand the purpose and structure of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and
Use MeSH to search MEDLINE®/PubMed® for medical literature and information. - Using CINAHL/MeSH HeadingsHaving trouble thinking of terms to use in your search? This video discusses how to find terms within MEDLINE. Note that contents of this video applies to the CINAHL nursing database as well as MEDLINE.
Where to Search
- MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine & EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEssentially equivalent to PubMed from the National Library of Medicine, but with full text for select journals. Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Over 4,800 current biomedical journals are indexed; full text for 1,470 journals. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Incorporates PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, AIDSLINE & more.
- Core NMT Journals in MEDLINESearch MEDLINE for the following core NMT Journals: journal of nuclear medicine, journal of nuclear medicine technology, seminars in nuclear medicine, european journal of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging, clinical nuclear medicine
- PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service from the National Library of Medicine containing citations and abstracts of articles, primarily in the fields of biomedicine and health. It includes the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases that brings together relevant research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions. It can be used to inform healthcare decision-making for hundreds of medical conditions, plus related topics such as injury prevention. The Cochrane Library is recognized worldwide as a source of high-quality, independent evidence for healthcare interventions.
- Health Professions Databases via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowThis cluster of EBSCOhost databases allows you to search 14 health professions databases at one time including MEDLINE, CINAHL, Health Source databases, PsycINFO, and more. Note: Be aware that when searching multiple databases at one time, unique features of individual databases will likely lose their functionality. Please visit the Health Professions page for links to other essential health/medicine resources.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCovers over 4,600 nursing and allied health journals, with full-text articles from more than 350 active, non-open access journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. Also covers health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. Contains continuing education modules, research instruments records, evidence-based care sheets, and quick lessons as well.
