Books on the Library Shelves
Murphy Library shelves most books using the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system.
Nutrition books are shelved at call numbers starting with:
QP 141-185.3 (Nutrition and Physiology)
RA 784 (Personal Health and Nutrients)
RM 214-238 (Diet Therapy)
RM 218.7 (Nutrition Counseling)
TX 341-360 (Nutrition Policy)
TX 360-360.5 (Diet)
TX 361.A8 (Athletes-Nutrition)
TX 361.W55 (Women- Nutrition)
TX 369-TX415 (Nutrition and Foods)
TX 511-545 (Nutrition- Research, Food-Analysis)
TX 551-946 (Food- Caloric Content, Food-History, Food-Cooking, Food-International Cooking)
Library Catalogs
A library catalog is the complete inventory of the information resources held in a library collection.
Library catalogs list books, e-books, videos, e-resources, periodical subscriptions (but not the articles contained in periodicals), government documents, maps, and more.
- Murphy Library CatalogThe catalog of the collections of UWL's Murphy Library, with around 1 million items listed. Many items are accessed online, while others are available in the library building (and can usually be borrowed from the library). All items were selected with UWL students/faculty/staff in mind!
- Murphy Library Catalog with UW System Resource Sharing ListingsOver 9 million unique items and over 17 million volumes listed. UWL students/faculty/staff can request to borrow items to pick up at Murphy Library within 2-4 days. This service is called "UW System Resource Sharing".
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowA union catalog of the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide (including UW-Madison but NOT including UWL or other UW libraries), with listings for more than 670 million books and other items. Books and other materials identified in WorldCat can be requested using Interlibrary Loan.
E-Book Collections
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes 2,500 journals and 11,000 books published by Elsevier in the areas of health & life Sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral Sciences. Thanks to funding by academic initiatives, we now have the "complete" collection, which includes pre-1995 Journal Content with deep coverage available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 and practically all Elsevier online books, including Major Reference Works, Books Series, Handbooks, eBooks Front lists and Back lists back to 1995.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
These are general nutrition subject terms that work well as searches in the Murphy Library Catalog.
Cooking, American
Diet
Diet and Disease
Diet Therapy
Dietary Requirements
Dietetics
Digestion
Food-Health Aspects
Food and Nutrition
Food Habits
Gastronomy
Malnutrition
Menus
Nutrition
Nutrition-Counseling
Nutrition Disorder
Nutrition-Health Aspects
Obesity