Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale) This link opens in a new window
With 17 million citations on nearly five million people, the database refers users to biographical materials in more than 2000 publications, ranging from such standards as Biography Index, Who's Who in America, and The New York Times Biographical Services to extensive complimentary specialized resources including Golombek's Encyclopedia of Chess, The Dictionary of Sea Painters, The Encyclopedia of Surfing, and 13 Mistresses of Murder.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database contains contextual biographical entries on contemporary and historical figures. It offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles. Users can search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.
Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 145,000 of today’s most influential novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters.
Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of 12,000 authors from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Online, full-image, and searchable content of The New York Times from September 18, 1851 to the present with a 4-year embargo. Includes articles, advertisements, and political cartoons. Search options include keyword, article type, by date, author, or browse by issue.
Literary Index (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This resource is a master index to over 130 literature products from Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.
Gale In Context: College This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, topically-arranged content that covers the humanities and social sciences, literature, science, U.S. history, and world history. Includes full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Also includes hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
General Internet Resources
Biographical Dictionary http://www.s9.com/biography/index.html
Covers more than 28,000 notable men and women who have shaped our world from ancient times to the present day. The dictionary can be searched by birth years, death years, positions held, professions, literary and artistic works, achievements, and other keywords. The information in the entries typically is very brief.
A magazine and TV channel site for the A&E cable show, "Biography," with celebrity features and clips of upcoming shows. The search engine Search contains over "25,000 of the greatest lives, past and present." Entries usually are rather brief.
Collective Biographies of Women
Collective Biographies of Women, with its annotated bibliography, growing archive of texts, resources featuring individual women, and new tools for interpreting prosopography, is an experiment in digital humanities focused on a widespread genre, the collection of short biographies.
History Channel http://www.history.com
A website linking directly to the History Channel Website, with a "This Day in History" Information Resource and links to popular biographical topics.
Poets.org Biographies http://www.poets.org/page.php/prmID/58
This well-designed and easily navigable website from the Academy of American Poets hosts concise biographies of more than 500 poets, mainly American but also from other countries. Each entry includes a selection of the writer's poems (some in digital audio), a bibliography, and related links on the web.
Subject-specific Biographical databases
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
With contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, this collection includes millions of full-text articles from national and global publications as well as more than 200 experiments, projects, and top reference content.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: World History.
Gale In Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Content includes rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multi-media. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: U.S. History.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online includes access to The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Combined, these resources cover every aspect of the music world including bibliographies on composers and musicians and hundreds of carefully selected and classified links to international musical sites.
Note: This resource is limited to 3 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later.