Today's Goals
- Library Resources Overview
- Use Real Life Examples
- Experiment with Library Resources
- Assignment - Parts 1 & 2
Ad Rates
Newspaper Ad Rates (State) http://www.gaebler.com/Newspaper-Ad-Rates.htm
Radio Ad Rates (State) http://www.gaebler.com/Radio-Ad-Rates.htm
- Also Arbitron (Links about the radio markets ratings with some special glimpses of reports)
Billboard Ad Rates (State by large Metro Areas from Clear Channel Outdoor)
OTHER:
IAB - A group of 500 companies that are responsible for selling 86% of online advertising in the United States. Reports on internet ad spending.
Lee Enterprises (Owns newspapers in the La Crosse River Valley Region) - circulation and ad rate data.
Magazines & Journals
Advertising Age - Leading advertising and marketing magazine (with many types of reports).
- Library has both electronic and print issues
Adweek - covers advertising and branding in all forms of media and publications.
BtoB - magazine for developing marketing strategies.
Sport Marketing Quarterly: SMQ - Quality research that advances the study and practice of sport marketing and is relevant to the professional interests of the sport marketing community.
Resources for Assignment #1
- Simmons Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) This link opens in a new windowConsumer product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits and more, as derived from MRI-Simmons USA, a major ongoing survey of 50,000+ U.S. adults. Also includes data from Connect surveys focusing on consumers’ use of traditional and digital media, plus Local Flex Markets Study data for all 205 continental media markets. Quick Reports, Crosstab, and Geo Mapping modules are available. Access limited to classes in the College of Business Administration.
Note: This resource is limited to 50 simultaneous users. - SMA: Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet) This link opens in a new windowNote: This resource was previously listed as SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network).
Market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports business industry, with topics such as equipment sales, sports participation, broadcasting, sponsorship, and sports marketing. Also includes Brand Share Index, which provides information on consumer brand preferences within various sports markets. - IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry market research reports for over 1,300 United States industries, each updated 1 to 4 times per year. NAICS and specialized (new/emerging) industry reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. NAICS industry reports additionally include Industry Financial Ratios.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowNote: This resource has replaced Business Premium Collection. It contains all of the content previously found in Business Premium Collection and also incorporates business books from ProQuest Ebook Central.
Provides indexing and selected full text for thousands of business sources, including scholarly and trade journals, reports (e.g., company, country, industry, SWOT), working papers, dissertations, books, videos, and news sources such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and The Economist. - Business Source Premier (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowThis database includes full text for over 2,300 business journals, including over a thousand peer-reviewed titles. Non-journal full text includes: market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- data.census.gov (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Official data from U.S. Census Bureau surveys, including the American Community Survey, the Decennial Census, the Economic Census, Economic Surveys, Population Estimates, Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes, Community Resilience Estimates, and Public Sector surveys. - Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowCollection of three databases containing business, consumer, and job listings. The U.S. Businesses Database includes profiles for millions of businesses in the United States, and has an advanced search tool that includes fields such as company name, SIC/NAICS code, and business size. The U.S. Consumers / Lifestyles Database can be used to research a community before opening a business or to target a marketing campaign to a particular population. The U.S. Jobs / Internships Database allows for searching by job title, location, salary estimate, and more.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts to periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers. Includes full text for 530 journals. Topics covered include sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, and physical education.
Note: This resource is limited to 4 simultaneous users. If access is unavailable, please try again later.
Resources for Assignment #2
- Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new windowOnline access to Brands and Their Companies, Business Rankings Annual, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Market Share Reporter, Publishers Directory, and Statistics Sources. These directories can be searched individually or cross-search both at once.
Search Tips
- Gfk MRI PocketpieceCreate a free account here to view basic circulation and demographic data for 75 of the most popular national magazines.
Other Web Resources
ClickZ - ClickZ is the largest resource of interactive marketing news, information, commentary, advice, opinion, research, and reference in the world, online or off-. From search to social, technology to trends, our coverage is expert, exclusive, and in-depth.
Presentation
Other Print Sources
(also of possible interest) -
Sports Market Place Directory (Reference GV744 S65): Who, What, When & Where of the Sports Industry.
Complete Television, Radio & Cable Industry Directory (Reference HE8689 C66 2013)