Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse Environmental Studies Journals
Environment Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This databases includes articles from nearly 2,000 domestic and international journals on environmental studies as related to agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy use and renewable energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
This resource pulls together overview information, news, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents, and statistics on worldwide environmental and sustainability issues.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Contains coverage of the full range of environmental science subjects and policy issues, with content from more than 300 journals and reference books.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes citations for scholarly, government, and popular articles in areas of agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics include climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. This resource is provided free of charge by EBSCOhost.
AGRICOLA (U.S. Department of Agriculture) This link opens in a new window
5.2 million+ citations for journal articles (1700+ journal titles currently indexed), monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world from as far back as the 15th century. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Biological Abstracts (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers over 4,300 scholarly journals in the life sciences, including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, the environment, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health and toxicology. Coverage: 1994-present.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with over 700 journals and magazines covering computing, technology and engineering disciplines.
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
With contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, this collection includes millions of full-text articles from national and global publications as well as more than 200 experiments, projects, and top reference content.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields, with strong emphasis on titles covered in the AGRICOLA database.
MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine & EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Essentially equivalent to PubMed
from the National Library of Medicine, but with full text for select journals. Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Over 4,800 current biomedical journals are indexed; full text for 1,470 journals. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Incorporates PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, AIDSLINE & more.
National Climatic Data Center Image & Publication Systems
From NOAA. Local Climatological Data, Climatological Data, Hourly Precipitation Data, Storm Data, Monthly Climatic Data for the World, COOP Data / Record of Climatological Observations Form, Climatological Data National Summary
Over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, plus technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.
Science (AAAS) Note
: As of November 2019, current content from Science
should be accessed through the Academic Search Ultimate
database. The complete archive—from 1880 to the present with a rolling 6-year embargo—also remains available through JSTOR
A weekly online publication that covers scientific training, career development, and the science job market.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Clarivate Analytics) @ Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index that is a part of the Web of Science Core Collection
. It fully covers over 3,200 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, as well as indexing individually selected, relevant items from over 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. It can also be used to find other articles citing a specific article (footnotes in reverse).
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database includes full text access to science reference books, encyclopedias, essays, and biographies of scientists as well as full text articles from science periodicals. Access alternative interface
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals and includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, full text for 16,800 conference papers, and profiles for 25,000 scholars in the field of sociology. Topics covered include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, and many others.
These databases may also include related articles.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database containing full-text academic journals, magazines and periodicals plus reports, books and videos covering virtually every discipline. Includes thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database indexes and provides selected full text for thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources across many academic disciplines. Subjects covered include the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and literature.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This database offers an extensive collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. Also includes reference, newspaper, and audio content.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into two sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Gale In Context: College This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, topically-arranged content that covers the humanities and social sciences, literature, science, U.S. history, and world history. Includes full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Also includes hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines. Coverage: varies. Collections include: Arts and Science I - XV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences V - XIV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition. Access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection is made possible by the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Please note: Access to this resource ended on June 30, 2021. UW System began a new subscription to Westlaw this summer.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. Content includes local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; federal and state cases and statutes; and business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Legal, news, and business sources. Contains US state and federal cases, statutes, and regulations, along with secondary legal sources such as law reviews. Also includes US and international news, Hoover's Company Records, SEC filings, and Westlaw’s Company Investigator system.