Music (SUBJECT GUIDE): Musician Dates & Bios

• A Bio-Bibliographical Dictionary of 'Twelve-Tone and Serial Composers  (1970)
  ML 105 .C39
• Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Classical Musicians
  REF ML105 .S612 1997
• Contemporary American Composers:  A Biographical Dictionary (1976) 
  REF ML 390 .A54
• Composers of Today: A Comprehensive Biographical and Critical Guide to Modern Composers of All Nations (1934)
  ML 105 .E93
• Contemporary Composers
  ML 390 .M383 1973
• Contemporary Composers
  REF ML 390 .C65 1992
• A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Composers (1911-1971)
  REF ML 118 .T5
• Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities, U.S. and Canada (2016-17)
  REF ML 13 .D57
• Index to Biographies of Contemporary Composers
  ML 105 .B9 v.1-3
• Music in the 20th century, from Debussy through Stravinsky (1966)
  ​ML197 .A9
• Music Since 1900
  REF ML 197 .S634  2001
• Twentieth-Century Composers
  ML390 .E85 1968

• Black Women Composers: A Genesis
  ML 390 .G83 1983
• International Encyclopedia of Women Composers
  REF ML 105 .C7 1987
• The Kaleidoscope of Women's Sounds in Music of the Late 20th and Early 21st Centuries
  ML390 .K639 2015
• The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers
  REF COMPACT ML105 .N67 1994
• Sounds and Sweet Airs: The Forgotten Women of Classical Music
  ML390 .S686 2016
• Women Composers: A Handbook (1978)
  REF ML 105 .S7
• Women Composers, Conductors, and Musicians of the Twentieth Century (1980)
  ML 82 .L46
• Women in Music: A Biobibliography (1975)
  REF ML 105 .H6
• Women Opera Composers: Biographies from the 1500s to the 21st Century
  ML82 .M4 2016

Visit the LibGuide - many composers listed here by time period

• American Popular Music: The Rock Years
  ML3534.3 .S73 2006
• The Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-1950
  REF ML 102 .P66 K55 v.1-4
• Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
  REF ML 102 .P66 C66 2003
• The Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music
  REF ML 102 .G6 E63 2005
• Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music: Pop, Rock, and Worship
  REF ML 105 .E52 2010
• Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock and Soul
  REF ML 102 .P66 S8 1989
• The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed.
  REF ML 102 .P66 G84 2006 v.1-10
• Encyclopedia of Rock Stars
  REF ML 102 .R6 R44 1996
• The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
  REF ML 102 .J3 N48 2002
• The Oxford Companion to Jazz
  ML 3507 .O94 2000
• People Get Ready!: A New History of Black Gospel Music
  ML 3187. D37 P46 2005
• Rhythm and Blues, Rap, and Hip-Hop
  ML 102. P66 H6 2006
• The Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock & Roll
  REF ML 102. R6 R64 2001
• Who's Who of Jazz: Storyville to Swing Street (1972)
  ML 106 .U3 C5

• ASCAP Biographical Dictionary
  REF ML 106 .U3 A5 1980
• Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
  REF ML 105 .B16 2001 v.1-6
• The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
  REF ML 105 .H38 1996
• International Dictionary of Opera
  REF ML 102. O6 I6 1993 v.1-2
• International Who's Who in Music and Musical Gazetteer
  ML 105 .I5 1918
• The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
  REF COMPACT ML102.J3 N48 2002
• The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
  REF COMPACT ML 100 .N48 (more current online)
• The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
  REF COMPACT ML 102. O6 N5 1998

• American Composers: A Biographical Dictionary
  REF ML390 .E815 1982
• Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians
  REF ML 105 .S67 1982
• Composers in America: Biographical Sketches of Living Composers with a Record of their Works, 1912-1937
  ML 106 .U3 R3
• Contemporary American Composers: A Biographical Dictionary (1976)
  REF ML 390 .A54
• Dictionary of American Classical Composers (2005)
  Online Book
• Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities, U.S. and Canada (2016-17)
  REF ML 13 .D57
• Mavericks and Other Traditions in American Music
  ML 390 .B862 2004
• Musical Landscapes in Color: Conversations with Black American Composers
  ML390 .B235 2003
• Who's Who in American Music. Classical. (1983)
  REF ML 106 .U3 W46

• The American Opera Singer: The Lives and Adventures of America's Great Singers in Opera and Concert, from 1825 to the Present
  ML400 .D33 1997
• And So I Sing: African-American Divas of Opera and Concert
  ML400 .S88 1990
• A Concise Biographical Dictionary of Singers: From the Beginning of Recorded Sound to the Present
  ML400 .K9813 1969 (also REF)
• Conductors in Conversation: Fifteen Contemporary Conductors Discuss their Lives and Profession
  ML402 .W23 1991
• The Great Conductors (1967)
  ML402.S387 G7
• The Great Singers, From the Dawn of Opera to our Own Time (1966)
  ML400 .P65
• Musicians with a Mission: Keeping the Classical Tradition Alive
  ML385 .P55 2002
• Saxophone Soloists and their Music, 1844-1985: An Annotated Bibliography
  ML128.S247 G4 1986