UWL Books & Media
WorldCat
Book Collections
- American County Histories This link opens in a new windowMore than 2,500 county histories, most in the public domain, covering all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Research opportunities include local history, women's and African American experiences, government, medicine, law, agriculture, architecture, and archaeology.
Featured Reference Books/E-Books
Find these books in the library's reference area on the first floor.
A Research Guide to the Ancient World by Call Number: CB311 ONLINEISBN: 9781442237407Publication Date: 2014Annotated bibliography of the ancient cultures of the Mediterranean world, as well as Egypt and southwestern Asia"
American National Biography by Call Number: CT213 .A68 1999 ReferenceISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999v.1-24 + 2 supplements
Published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Conceived as the successor to the Dictionary of American Biography.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History by Call Number: D23 .B45 2010 ReferenceISBN: 9781933782652Second edition
v.1-6
The Holocaust: An Encyclopedia and Document Collection by Call Number: D804.25 .H655 2017 ReferenceISBN: 9781440840838v.1-4
The Cold War : the definitive encyclopedia and document collection by Call Number: D840 .C643 2020 ReferenceISBN: 9781440860751v.1-5
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by Call Number: DS43 .E53 2004 ReferenceISBN: 0028657691Publication Date: 2004v. 1-4
New Encyclopedia of Africa by Call Number: DT2 .N48 2008eb ONLINEISBN: 9780684315577Publication Date: 2008v.1-5
Encyclopedia of Local History by Call Number: E180 .E52 2017 ReferenceISBN: 9781442278776Third edition
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights by Call Number: E185.61 .E54 2003 ReferenceISBN: 031332171XSecond edition.
v.1-2
Voices of Revolutionary America by Call Number: E203 .H89 2011ISBN: 9780313377327Publication Date: 2011-05-01
The Early Republic and Antebellum America by Call Number: E301 .E146 2010ISBN: 9780765681263Publication Date: 2010
The Encyclopedia of the War of 1812 by Call Number: E354 .E53 2012ISBN: 9781851099566Publication Date: 2012-04-01This work is a comprehensive reference work on the War of 1812, offering a multidisciplinary treatment of course, causes, effects, and specific details of the War that provides both quick reference and in-depth analysis
3 v. (xliii, 1034 p.) : ill. ; 29 cm.
V. 1. A-K
v. 2. L-Y
v. 3. Documents.
Historic Documents by Call Number: E839.5 .H57 ReferenceISBN: 9780872893740Library has: 1972-2006 (35 volumes)
Index: 1972/1999
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: F1406 .E53 2008 ONLINEISBN: 9780684315904Publication Date: 20082nd ed.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: A Tour Through History from Ancient Times to the Present by Call Number: GT31 .G74 2004 ReferenceISBN: 03133254136 volumes
International historical statistics : Europe, 1750-2000 by Call Number: HA1107 .M5 2003 ReferenceISBN: 0333994116Publication Date: 20035th ed.
Encyclopedia of the Industrial Revolution in World History by Call Number: HD2324 .E546 2015 ReferenceISBN: 97808108888763 volumes
Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict [electronic resource] by Call Number: HM291 .E625 2008eb ONLINEISBN: 9780123739858Publication Date: 20082nd ed.
v.1-3
Encyclopedia of Populism in America by Call Number: JC423 .E544 2014 ReferenceISBN: 97815988456792 volumes
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by Call Number: JV6465 .E53 2021 ReferenceISBN: 9781642656886Second edition.
v.1-3
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Call Number: KF8205 .E525 2009eb ONLINEISBN: 9781604266801Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome by Call Number: Murphy Library Reference (DG270 .B86 2012 )ISBN: 9780816082179Publication Date: 2012-01-01Expanded ed. of: Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire. Rev. ed. c2002.; Includes bibliographical references (pages 757-760) and index.
The Encyclopedia of North American Indian Wars, 1607-1890 by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781851096039Publication Date: 20111 online resource (3 v. (1393 p.)) : ill., maps.
This encyclopedia provides a broad, in-depth, and multidisciplinary look at the causes and effects of warfare between whites and Native Americans, encompassing nearly three centuries of history.
Contents:Vol. I. A-L
vol. II. M-Z
vol. III. Documents.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780195388398Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology by Call Number: Q127.U6 O95 2014 ReferenceISBN: 9780199766666Volume 1. Abortion debates and science -- lumbering -- volume 2. Machinery and manufacturing -- Zworkin, Vladimir Kosma.
The Historian's Toolbox by Call Number: Reference D16 .W62 2012ISBN: 0765633264Publication Date: 2012
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by Call Number: Reference D54 .E53 2013ISBN: 9781405179355Publication Date: 2012-12-0313-volume reference work, presented in A-Z format- Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.—A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World by Call Number: Reference D62 .A52 2004ISBN: 06848066812 volumes
Southeast Asia: A Historical Encyclopedia, from Angkor Wat to East Timor by Call Number: Reference DS524 .S68 2004ISBN: 15760777053 volumes
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Call Number: Reference E169.1 .O945 2013ISBN: 9780199764358Publication Date: 2013-03-26- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by Call Number: Reference E169.1 .S764 2000ISBN: 1558624007Publication Date: 19995 volumes
Encyclopedia of the Mexican-American War: a political, social, and military history by Call Number: Reference E404 .E53 2013ISBN: 9781851098538Publication Date: 20133 volume set
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History by Call Number: Reference E468 .H47 2000ISBN: 15760706625 volumes
The Civil War Era and Reconstruction by Call Number: Reference E468 .S65 2011ISBN: 9780765682574Publication Date: 2011-08-18An encyclopedia of social, political, cultural, and economic history of the U.S. Civil War and Reconstruction.
