Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Murphy Library News & Updates
Research Data - Archaeology
Browse Archaeology / Anthropology Journals
Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Anthropological Literature indexes more than 600 journals in over 50 languages from the 1700s to the present. Content covers social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology, and related subjects, with an emphasis on Mesoamerican, Native American and Andean archaeology and ethnology.
eHRAF Archaeology (Human Relations Area Files) This link opens in a new window
eHRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. The database is organized by archaeological traditions and the documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Each tradition file consists of a general summary and full-text sources including books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts.
eHRAF World Cultures (Human Relations Area Files) This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents. eHRAF is the online portion, covering approximately 150 cultures. Together with the corresponding microfiche set (Murphy Library basement), over 400 cultures are covered.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines. Coverage: varies. Collections include: Arts and Science I - XV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences V - XIV, Business IV, Life Sciences, and Sustainability is made possible by UWL Student Differential Tuition. Access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV collection is made possible by the Murphy Library Endowment Fund and UWL Student Differential Tuition.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Includes 2,500 journals and 11,000 books published by Elsevier in the areas of health & life Sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral Sciences. Thanks to funding by academic initiatives, we now have the "complete" collection, which includes pre-1995 Journal Content with deep coverage available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 and practically all Elsevier online books, including Major Reference Works, Books Series, Handbooks, eBooks Front lists and Back lists back to 1995.
Electronic access to 500+ peer-reviewed, full-text journals and over 264,000+ articles, with content dating back to 1999 in the social sciences, business, humanities, and science, technology, and medicine disciplines.
Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
This resource brings together a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. The database contains more than 1,800 documentary films and over 100,000 pages of full-text material, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives. Includes Volumes 1 & 2 Second Edition.
Help is Available - Ask a Librarian