Zines: Zines Online

Explore These Zine Collections

Discover more examples of zines and other alternative press publications. Many include PDFs you can download.

• Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)

  • Mission: Establish a “living history” archive of past and present queer zines and encourage current and emerging zine publishers.
  • Digital archive of zines made by LGBTQ folks.

• Barnard Zine Library Directory

  • Excellent directory of zine libraries around the world.

• Sherwood Forest Virtual Zine Library

  • Located in Austin, TX, with over 2500 zines. Hundreds available online.
  • Contains an A-Z list of fully digitized scans of zines.

• University of Miami Zine Collection

  • Subjects include anarchism, LGBTQ+, politics.

• Smash the Skatriarchy

  • Created by Amelia Bjesse-Puffin to discuss equity in the skate scene.

• Internet Archive's Zine Collection

  • Collection of over 70,000 zines, searchable by subject.
  • Notable subjects: anarchism, socialism, UFOs, labor.

• Polemical Zine

  • Nonprofit global arts collective, publishing art from all people.

• Send Back My Stamps!

  • Dedicated to reproducing ephemera from the early days of the metal underground.
  • CW: violence.

• DC Punk Archive Zine Library

  • Established in 2014 to document the punk music scene of Washington DC.

• ZineWiki

  • Open-source encyclopedia devoted to zines and independent media.

• Papercut Zine Library's Virtual Library

  • Collection of zines available online as PDFs or other digital versions.

• eFanzines.com

  • Online library of science fiction fanzines, both new and old.

• FANAC Fan History Project

  • Chronicling the history and present state of science fiction fandom, including many scanned SF fanzines.

• OCAD University Zine Collection

  • Visual catalog (covers only) of zines in the OCAD U Zine Collection.

• POC Zine Project

  • Archive of downloadable zines made by people of color.

• Printed Matter Digital Downloads

  • Digital artists’ publications, including zines, available for free download from NYC art bookstore Printed Matter.

• Punk Planet Archive

  • Covers music, punk subculture, visual arts, and progressive issues like media criticism, feminism, and labor.

• Quarantine Public Library

  • Repository of books (one-page aka mini zines) made by artists.

• Small Science Collective

  • Collaboration of scientists, artists, students, producing small zines and web comics on various topics.

• Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical Library

  • Digitized collection of zines from the Solidarity! Collection.

You can purchase zines from these distributors. Some allow you to submit your own zines for distribution.

• Antiquated Future

  An online store, zine distro, pop-up shop, and tape label that operates out of Portland, Oregon. Zine genres available include personal, historical, humor, personal-as-political, literary, and music. Check out their "Links" page for links to active distros and other zine resources.

• Bluestockings Cooperative

  A worker-owned community space and bookstore guided by the principles of abolition feminism, solidarity, and transformative justice practices.

• Booklyn

  Booklyn’s mission is to promote artists’ books as art and research material, including distributing artists' books and zines.

• Brown Recluse Zine Distro

  Created to support and center zines written predominantly by people of color.

• Doris Press

  Offerings include feminist, queer, perzines, political zines, and much more.

• Mend My Dress Press

  A small publisher and distributor based out of Tacoma, Washington.

• Microcosm Publishing

  An independent publisher and distributor in Portland, OR.

• Pen Fight Distro

  A feminist and queer shop and small press based in Manchester, UK.

• Portland Button Works

  Portland Button Works specializes in making custom buttons, but also offers their own designs in addition to running a zine, comic, and book distro.

• Quimby's

  Massive collection of zines, running the gamut of possible topics.

• Sojourners for Justice Press

  Publishes short form and ephemeral zines, pamphlets, and booklets that engage do-it-yourself, black feminist, and abolitionist philosophies.

• Sprout Distro

  Sprout Distro is "an anarchist zine distro (distributor) and publisher based in the occupied territory currently known as the United States."

• Stay Kind!

  Stay Kind! publishes and distributes creative works including zines and buttons. A portion of all sales are donated to initiatives supporting positive change in our communities.

• Wasted Ink Zine Distro

  A Phoenix-based distro and brick-and-mortar shop that specializes in local and international zines.

• Zine-O-Matic

  Monthly zine subscription service.

• Etsy

  Home of all things handmade and DIY, including zines.

• Ope!

  La Crosse's own zine publishing powerhouse!

Zinester Directory

• Jason Luther's Zotero zine study group
• Zines at the Library of Congress
• ZINES: AN INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL ON AMATEUR AND DIY MEDIA
• From Staple to Spine: Compendium of Zine-Related Books

  This site, created by Aj Michel, features 140 titles of books based on zines, including individual titles, multi-author anthologies around a particular topic, academic works, and how-to-guides.

• Zine Web Archive

  This site provides a supplement to the physical zine collection at the Library of Congress.

There are number of ways to locate zines outside of Murphy Library. Attending a local zine fest, purchasing through a distro, or reaching out directly to a creator are all great options! The resources on this page will help you locate zines as well as connect with other zine communities and resources.

Zinecat.org is a union catalog dedicated to zines. A union catalog is a resource where libraries can share cataloging and holdings information. ZineCat lets researchers discover zine holdings by searching a single catalog, and helps librarians copy catalog records to facilitate lending across libraries. ZineCat serves educators, researchers, librarians, archivists, and anyone in the general public with an interest in zines.

ZineCat contains records from partner libraries including ABC No Rio, the Barnard Zine Library, the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, Denver Zine Library, the Queer Zine Archive Project and the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture at Duke University.

All zines are protected by copyright unless they contain an anti-copyright statement. Like any other resource used in scholarship, zines should be cited. 

Here are some tips for formatting your citations using MLA Style:

• In MLA style, a pamphlet, zine, or brochure is cited like a book.
• Include as much detail as possible, using the MLA's Core Elements.  
• If your zine has no author, or if the author is "anonymous," begin your citation with the title of the zine. Pseudonyms, including online usernames, are usually given like regular author names.
• If your zine is part of a numbered series, indicate the issue number.

General Form

Last name, First M. or Organization. Zine Title. Publisher, Year. 

• Cite This Zine

  One-page folding-zine pdf about citing zines from the Barnard Zine Library. For best results print on 11x17 paper, but 8.5x11 will work, too.

• Papercut
• Longarm Stapler
  • Listen on Spotify 
  • Listen on Apple Music