About Literature Reviews
Databases on this page are ideal for finding information published in journals and other scholarly sources. Comprehensive databases provide broad access to the published literature. Sometimes the full article is contained in the database, but other times you click on the 
button in these databases to find your access options for an article. From there, articles not held by Murphy Library can be conveniently requested through InterLibrary Loan.
Literature Review Databases, Comprehensive
Health Education literature is indexed thoroughly across several databases that index larger fields comprehensively.
However, for this class I would recommend that you focus on CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health), because CINAHL includes full coverage of most, if not all, of the core peer-reviewed journal literature of health education.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCovers over 4,600 nursing and allied health journals, with full-text articles from more than 350 active, non-open access journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. Also covers health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. Contains continuing education modules, research instruments records, evidence-based care sheets, and quick lessons as well.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (U.S. National Library of Medicine & EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEssentially equivalent to PubMed from the National Library of Medicine, but with full text for select journals. Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Over 4,800 current biomedical journals are indexed; full text for 1,470 journals. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Incorporates PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, AIDSLINE & more.
- Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEducational Administration Abstracts indexes professional and peer-reviewed articles related to the administration of primary, secondary and post-secondary educational facilities and programs, including educational leadership, management, research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. It includes records from the most important sources within the field of Education, such as Educational Administration Quarterly, Review of Higher Education, and Journal of Educational Administration. Journals are indexed selectively to match database content, rather than comprehensively.
- ERIC (Institute of Education Sciences) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowFrom the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education. Full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations and abstracts for over 2,100 journals with full text for 1,200 as well as full text for over 500 books and education conference papers. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- APA PsycInfo (American Psychological Association) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowCovers 2,400 journals as well as book chapters and dissertations in psychology and from related behavioral and social sciences including: artificial intelligence, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, political science, social work, sociology, sports
Consumer and Alternative Health Literature
- Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowHealth and wellness information from: 480+ journals and magazines, 2,600+ evidence-based reports (Great Neck Health), nearly 500 images and diagrams (Nucleus Medical), 470+ encyclopedias and other reference sources, 240+ animations (Blausen Medical), government pamphlets (CDC, FDA, NIH and more), ASHP Patient Medication Information, Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
- Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) @ EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowIncludes about 50 active journals and magazines focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.