Other Useful Free Websites
The Internet Archive is an American digital library that provides free public access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and millions of books.
The Hagley is a museum and library that investigates the unfolding history of American business, technology, and innovation, and its impact on the world. Hagley's Digital Archives, in the library, furthers the study of business and technology in America. The collections include individuals' papers and companies' records ranging from eighteenth-century merchants to modern telecommunications and illustrate the impact of the business system on society.
Smithsonian Libraries and the Smithsonian Institution Archives have now joined forces to better serve researchers, curators, educators, and learners of all ages at the Smithsonian and around the world.
HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items, offering access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research.
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
Here is a direct link to its digitized collection.
Recollection Wisconsin is a site of digitized photos, maps, books, artifacts, oral histories and more from dozens of Wisconsin communities. It brings together digital cultural heritage resources from Wisconsin libraries, archives, museums and historical societies and shares them with the world in partnership with the Digital Public Library of America.
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a US collaborative project aimed at providing public access to digital holdings from many American public heritage institutions and libraries in order to create a large-scale public digital library.
The Wisconsin Historical Society is a state agency and a private membership organization whose purpose is to maintain, promote and spread knowledge relating to the history of North America, with an emphasis on the state of Wisconsin and the trans-Allegheny West.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. BHL is revolutionizing global research by providing free, worldwide access to knowledge about life on Earth. Headquartered at the Smithsonian Libraries and Archives in Washington, D.C., BHL operates as a worldwide consortium of natural history, botanical, research, and national libraries working together to address this challenge by digitizing the natural history literature held in their collections and making it freely available for open access as part of a global “biodiversity community.”
Wikipedia is a research spring board tool that can be useful to find access to other scholarly articles or primary sources or tertiary sources. In higher education, it is highly recommended to avoid citing Wikipedia as a source.