Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Collections: Citing Digital Content

It Can Be Tricky...

It can be tricky citing content from a digital collections. Luckily there are some good guides out there, such as from Lafayette College David Bishop Skillman Library. Below find examples taken from its website, which you can access here.

Citing Digital Content in MLA (7th, 2009)

Taken from Lafayette College's Archives and Special Collections website. You can access it directly here.

Digital Collections Note: MLA no longer requires the use of URLs in MLA citations. For instructors who still wish to require the use of URLs, MLA suggest that the URL appear within angle brackets after the date of access. The URL is given in the samples below.

Magazine Article: Shaw, Diane Windham. “Lafayette and Slavery.” Lafayette Alumni News. Winter 2007. Digital. 13 Jan. 2015. <http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/magazine/lafalummag- 20070100>.

Newspaper Article: Kelley, Michael. “Damaged Futures. Research Finds Student Athletes are at Greater Risk for Long-Term Health.” The Lafayette. 9 May 2014. Digital. 13 Jan. 2015. <http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/newspaper/20140509>.

Photograph: “Students Disrupt ROTC Parade on Fisher Field.” 4 May 1969. Historical Photograph Collection. Digital. 13 Jan. 2015. <http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/historicalphotos/hpc-0269>. 

Citing Digital Content in Chicago (16th, 2010)

Taken from Lafayette College's Archives and Special Collections website. You can access it directly here.

Newspaper Article: Kelley, Michael. “Damaged Futures. Research Finds Student Athletes are at Greater Risk for Long-Term Health.” The Lafayette. May 9, 2014, http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/newspaper/20140509

Magazine Article: Shaw, Diane Windham. “Lafayette and Slavery.” Lafayette Alumni News. Winter 2007, http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/magazine/lafalummag-20070100

Photograph: “Students disrupt an ROTC parade on Fisher Field, May 4, 1969.” Lafayette College Historical Photograph Collection, http://digital.lafayette.edu/collections/historicalphotos/hpc-0269